THE HUMAN FLY – an impossible way

Impossible!

I was talking to a very good living man who does a lot of charitable work and I asked him WHY he did so much.  His reply?  “Well, it’s a step up the ladder.” Further conversation confirmed that he thought his good deeds would help him get to heaven.

This reminded me of an event several years ago in Los Angeles. It was announced that on a certain day a man billed as the “Human fly” would climb the face of a large high rise department store. Long before the appointed time hundreds of eager spectators gathered to watch the seemingly impossible performance.

Slowly and carefully he mounted higher, clutching to a window ledge here, a jutting brick there, a cornice, a pipe.  Up and up he went against apparently insurmountable difficulties until at last he was almost at the top.

The crowd watched as he seemed to feel left and right and above, for something firm enough to grip and support his weight. He seemed to spy what looked like a grey stone or a discoloured brick protruding from the wall, similar to many others he had used on his ascent. He stretched towards it but it was just beyond his reach. He ventured all on a swing and grasped the protuberance firmly in his hand – and fell to the ground, crushed . . . . . In his hand was a massive spider’s web!

Alas!  How many people today are thinking to climb to heaven in their own way, only to find at last that they have ventured all on a spider’s web and are lost for eternity.


A gift from Adam

The Bible clearly states that we are ALL sinners, having inherited a sinful nature at birth. We all become sinners by choice and practice and OUR SIN SEPARATES US from GodJesus Christ, sinless, was the ONLY one who could pay the penalty for sin. He could fully represent God and also fully represent mankind.

Jesus Christ is the ONLY One who can RECONCILE us to God.
He is the ONLY way to heaven.


Sin separates man from God

We are ALL sinners. Romans 3:23;  5:12;  Isaiah 53:6
God is absolutely perfect, holy, righteous. SIN SEPARATES US FROM GOD. Isaiah 59:2

 

We can do NOTHING

NOTHING we do can wipe out our sin.
NOTHING we do will make us acceptable to God.
Ephesians 2:8-9.  Titus 3:5.  Isaiah 64:6.

 

 

Christ has paid the penalty

The Good News is we don’t have to do anything.
God has already done it.
Romans 6:23b
John 3:16-18
CHRIST DIED to PAY THE PENALTY for SIN. 1 Timothy 2:5.  Romans 5:8.  1 Peter 3:18.

 

Christ is the ONLY Way

John 14:6  Jesus said “I am THE WAY, the Truth and the life. NO ONE comes to the Father except through Me”

 

 

 

Eternal life is a GIFT from God but the Gift needs to be RECEIVED and ACCEPTED.      John 1:12.  Acts 16:31.  John 5:24.

 

There is NO OTHER CHOICE – NO OTHER WAY.

1 John 5:12
He who HAS THE SON
HAS LIFE
and he who DOES NOT HAVE THE SON OF GOD
does NOT HAVE LIFE.

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to THE HUMAN FLY – an impossible way

  1. Rob Barkman says:

    Fantastic posting… you certainly made the way of salvation plain for anyone to understand. May the Lord bless you in your blogging ministry.

    Like

  2. hazeleyes77 says:

    You don’t have to post this comment here, as I know it does not apply to this… I wanted to thank you for leaving your comment on my blog. I did not realize your ministry was for adults who had been abused as children. I was abused as a child, sexually by my father. For years. I would like to talk to you more, if that’s ok. Please email me at tabitha_creech@yahoo.com. Thanks so much and God Bless You!!

    Like

  3. pbus1 says:

    All of our righteousnesses are as filthy rags!!! (Isaiah 64:6) “And ye begin to stand without, and to knock at the door, saying Lord, Lord, open unto us; and He shall answer and say unto you, I know you not whence ye are: then shall ye begin to say, we had eaten and drunk in thy presence, and thou hast taught in our streets. But he’s shall say, I tell you, I know you not whence ye are; depart from me ye workers iniquity.” He and Many who believe they will be saved by their works, will be sadly mistakened! We must strive to enter in at the strait gate.

    Like

    • Hi Paulette.
      When we consider that our RIGHTEOUSNESSES – the things we consider GOOD are as filthy rags – where does that leave the BAD things? We have been saved FROM so much . . . what a wonderful Saviour!
      Angela

      Like

Leave a Reply

