STOPPED: What caused it to stop?

Stopped

A visitor to a large factory watched a man operating a machine which traced a pattern from a blueprint on the adjoining bench onto a sheet of steel and used a fiery torch of high density to cut the 8 inch thick steel plate into the required pattern.  He marvelled at the ingenuity of the mechanics and the precision with which it operated.

As he watched, he found that at times the flame made no impression on the metal.  Then the operator sprayed a chemical over the resisting patch and the cutting resumed.  The operator explained that although the torch easily cut through 8 inches of clean steel, the flame was unable to penetrate even the slightest film of rust on the surface.  As soon as the rust was removed, the cutting continued.

stopped blue starstopped blue starWhat a forceful reminder
that Holy Spirit is seeking
to produce God’s perfect design in us,
shaping us into Christlikeness.

God has a ‘blueprint’ for my life
and Holy Spirit is working in me to produce that perfect image.

Ephesians 4:13 (Amplified)
“that we arrive at really mature manhood –
the completeness on personality
which is NOTHING LESS
than the standard height of Christ’s own perfection:
the measure of the stature of the fullness of the Christ,
and the completeness found in Him”

Jude 24
“Who is able to keep you from falling
and to present you FAULTLESS before the presence of His glory”

stopped red starstopped red starWhat a forceful reminder
that His work in me can be limited –
can be stopped.

What can hinder Him in His work?  I can

Just as rust on the steel plate stopped the process,
“rust” in my life will hinder His work. 

If I allow the cares of this world, or the temptations of this world to affect me,
or if I fail to spend time in His Word and in communion with Him,
His work of shaping me is hindered until that area is cleansed.

We all need to ask God
to reveal any area of “rust” in our lives that prevents His work in us.

We must be willing to
“come out from among them and be separate, and touch not the unclean”
2 Corinthians 6:17

We need to
“reckon ourselves to be dead indeed unto sin”
and “yield ourselves unto God”  Romans 6:11,13.

We need to
“FLEE these things . . .
FOLLOW after righteousness . . .
FIGHT the good fight of faith”
1 Timothy 6:11-12

To Thee, Thou dying Lamb, I all things owe:
All that I have and am; and all I know.
All that I have is now no longer mine,
And I am not my own:  Lord, I am Thine.
Charles Edward Mudie

Take Thou my love, O Lord, and consecrate it;
Burn out the dross and make it all Thine own.
Save me from self and all of earth’s ambitions
Until self has died, and Thou dost reign alone.
Oswald Smith

Question:
If God loved you according to your love for Him, where would you be?

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to STOPPED: What caused it to stop?

  1. Glory hallelujah. The Psalmist David wrote, “Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me, and know my anxieties; And see if there is any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting” (Psalm 139:23-24).

    Angela, until we get rid of the obstacles that hinder the presence of God in lives, we will never reach maximum potential in Christ. The Patriarch, David knew that all too well. Jesus called the Pharisees blind because they were more concerned about how they look before men rather than the condition of their hearts.

    Thanks so much for sharing this beautiful reminder. God blesses.

    Like

    • We are sometimes slow learners Noel. We *KNOW* from previous experience with the living God that He is able, willing and ready to deliver us from any temptation and to be our overcomer when we submit to Him, and yet sometimes (thankfully a decreasing number of times) we continue on our own merry way.

      What an incredibly amazing and patient and loving God we serve, that He ever so gently – and not so gently when necessary – reminds us and draws us back to Himself.

      I long for the day when we will be with Him for all eternity, with NO distractions and will worship Him with full devotion and sincerity . . . and we are one day closer!

      Like

  2. sagescenery says:

    Thank you, Holy Spirit!! Keep doing Your work in us! Amen!

    Like

    • Praise God for the change He wrought in us and for the continual change as He continues His work. We can look forward with confidence to the day when His work is complete and we will be presented faultless before His throne.

      We serve an incredibly amazing God!

      Like

  3. Ann says:

    Thank you for sharing, Dear Angela

    I keep thinking about a comment you made elsewhere about your current ministry… I am thankful that you are doing what you are doing. I keep finding so much in the posts you share, and reading the comments shows me I am not the only one!

    ” The operator explained that although the torch easily cut through 8 inches of clean steel, the flame was unable to penetrate even the slightest film of rust on the surface. ”
    There are so many thoughts that go through my mind on reading this… What do I expose myself to when I allow things into my life that are set on corroding or eroding His plans for my life?

    A thin layer of rust … a thin layer of doubt… I think it is in my best interest to let Him deal with the rust early!! I am purposing in my heart not to stand in His way…

    Blessings
    ann

    P.S. Our God is big and powerful and mighty, yet He will not force our hands. We have the power of choice.

    Like

    • Ann, thank you for your kind comment. I really appreciate your encouragement, especially at the moment when I am trying to catch up after being away for a week.

      Ann, this illustration of how the merest sign of rust, invisible to the eye, stops the work of the machine, challenged me. When we think of the perfect holiness of our triune God, we can understand how even the tiniest hint of sin causes a blockage – an enormous gulf – between us. Praise God for the finished work of Christ on Calvary, which enables me to stand before a holy God, clothed with the righteousness of Christ.

      I don’t want anything to hinder that. I don’t want the slightest interruption to that enormous privilege, so I want my amazing God to convict me immediately of anything that will hinder His work in me, and to give me the grace of repentance, that our fellowship remains unhindered.

      Yes, I choose to yield and in doing so I am abundantly blessed.

      “Make me a captive Lord, and then I shall be free.
      Force me to render up my sword, and I shall conqueror be”

      Like

  4. We appreciate your faithfulness to Christ as you share His Word with others. Also, we greatly appreciate you allowing us to use the fruits of your labors to enhance the ministry of My Delights and My Counsellors website. May the Lord continue to bless your efforts as you serve our Lord.
    We appreciate your understanding concerning our desire for anonymity. It is only through this anonymity that the Lord alone can be glorified in our ministry. It is because of this desire that we are refraining from any commenting or commenting on other blogs besides the blogs we have chosen to feature. We desire for His Word alone to be presented without any input from ourselves. This is the same spirit that we have seen in your blog as well. We appreciate you for this attitude.

    Again, thank you so much for your kindness in allowing us to reblog from your blog ministry. May the Lord continue to bless you for your self-sacrificial labors for Him.
    Your brothers in Christ.
    The staff of My Delights and My Counsellors,

    Like

  5. jelillie says:

    What a powerful illustration Angela. Sin is not stronger than Jesus but it can stop His work cold in my life if I give place to it.

    Like

    • Amen J . . . and aren’t we miserable until that fellowship is restored? Praise God for Holy Spirit who convicts us of sin and enables us to repent and confess and receive immediate forgiveness, cleansing and restoration! May we be 100% open to His prompting and 100% ready to obey.

      Like

  6. snowgood says:

    Angela, how would you explain a difference between God’s blueprint for my life and Karma? A blueprint is a technical document used in manufacturing and has no room for variation. We as believers can follow Jesus, but is blueprint a bit misleading? In our old church they always said “types” were only good up to a point.

    Like

    • Stephen, my understanding is that while a blueprint is a technical document, as you say, and is MEANT to be followed without variation, we know that builders VERY often “cut corners” and quite often a completed building is NOT built according to the standards of the blueprint. The architect planned one thing, but the builder went his own way.

      From the Scriptures I have to say that God has a plan for my life – a very detailed plan. He knew me from the time of conception – or even from before the foundations of the earth. He knows every detail about me, even my thoughts and motives. He declares He knows the plans He has for me. I have very often in my Christian life recognised times when my amazing God has CHANGED my direction and led me HIS way. My heart wants to follow His blueprint for my life, but sometimes my flesh has other ideas, even though I know His way is best.

      Yes, ‘types’ are only good up to a point, but the main lesson here is that a film of rust stopped the cutting machine . . . and a film of sin will stop God’s work in me, because unrepented and unconfessed sin separates me from sweet communion with Him.

      Like

  7. Debbie says:

    I was stopped at the realization that a thin layer of rust can stop the cutting of the steel . ..and then how we can limit His work in us. Thank you so much, mentor Angela, for keeping us sharpened and seeking Him! God bless you and yours!

    Like

    • Isn’t it a somewhat incongruous thought that we can LIMIT God?! That is what the children of Israel did many times (Psalm 78:41 ‘they limited the Holy One of Israel’)

      Our amazing God really desires to work through us to continue His work on earth, and we have the audacity to prevent Him from His purpose. How unthinkable! The created refusing the Creator! And yet we all too often do so. We acknowledge Holy Spirit’s voice telling us to witness to that person, but for a variety of reasons, we fail to do so. We hear His voice convicting us of a wrong action, a wrong desire, a wrong habit, a wrong attitude, but we continue to please self.

      May He search us and deeply convict us, and empower and enable us to put HIM first in all things and follow Him faithfully.

      Like

  8. alwayzhis says:

    This post requires each one of us to draw near to God… so He will draw near to us. You’ve written this as a challenge to go “deeper” with the Lord God… go farther…
    Thank you sister Angela! Many blessings for your wisdom
    Stephanie

    Like

    • Stephanie, I know we share the desire to go further, to know Him more fully and follow Him more closely, and as we look back on our lives, we can clearly see how He has “grown” us, drawing us closer to Himself and leading us in the way we should go – and we know that He will continue His work as we depend on Him.

      What an incredibly amazing God!

      Like

  9. Rob Barkman says:

    Angela,

    May the Lord bless fro another very important and easily understood lesson. Oh my, how important it is to be in submission to His will for HIm to work in us and have His way with us. Many times we fool ourselves into thinking we are submitted to His will when we have unconfessed sin indwelling within us! The first sign of true submission is turning from sin that is in our lives, the second sign of submission is a willingness to fulfill a ministry to which we are called.

    Thanks again Angela… it makes me stop and consider if I am really in submission to Him.

    Like

    • >> “it makes me stop and consider . . .”
      Rob, isn’t this what we SHOULD do at least every day? While our hearts really desire to serve wholeheartedly, we are still in the flesh and still subject to fleshly desires and self will. Praise God, we are more than conquerors in Christ, and He does give the victory, but we need to be on constant guard and of course, fully submissive to Him.

      We serve an amazing God who undertakes for His blood-bought, adopted children when they seek Him and His righteousness.

      Like

Leave a Reply

