WOULD YOU? Jesus could; He would, and He did!

Would youDogs are said to be man’s best friends, and possibly most dog owners treat their dogs as a valued member of their family, though of course many would live regrettable lives of abuse or neglect.

Can we assume for a moment that all the dogs in your town have developed a problem that has them in very deep distress, and there is only one cure.  Can we further assume that YOU are the only one who can provide the help they need.  Would you be willing?

Now, there is a hitch.  To save these dogs from the dire distress and certain death they face, you would have to become a dog – in every sense.

##  Would you put down your human nature, your family, your job, your hobbies, your friends, your possessions? 
##  Would you give up the comforts of your home and live the life of a dog?
## Would you choose, instead of intimate relationship with your beloved, the poor substitute of looking into your beloved’s face and wagging your tail, unable to speak?  

This is a very poor illustration
of what the incarnation involved for the Son of God.

John 1:14  And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us

When Christ became a man He voluntarily limited what was to Him to most precious thing in the world: His unhampered, unhindered communion with the Father and His place of honour in the glories of heaven.

He left that glory to be born in a stable – and not an attractive, clean stable like we see on Christmas cards.

He left that glory to come into a world of darkness: of hatred, violence, murder, theft, cheating, and countless abominable acts; a world ruled by satan and his forces of evil.

Freedom EHe left that glory to go even further.
Jesus, the perfect, sinless Son of God, not only descended to this corrupt, dark world, but He actually became the ABSOLUTE ANTITHESIS OF HIMSELF, of His purity, when He BECAME SIN for us.


2 Corinthians 5:21

God made Jesus, who knew no sin, to be sin for us;
that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.

We cannot even imagine the torment He suffered as He took our burden of sin on Himself and as He became completely separated from the Father for the only time in all eternity.

We cannot even imagine the torment of the Father as He poured out His wrath on His beloved Son because of MY sin and YOUR sin!

WHY?  Why would He do such a thing?

The words of Stuart Townend’s song express it so well . . .
How deep the Father’s love for us!
How vast beyond all measure,
That He should give His only Son
To make a wretch His treasure.
How great the pain of searing loss!
The Father turns His face away,
As wounds which mar the chosen One
Bring many sons to glory.

Behold the Man upon a cross,
My sin upon His shoulders.
Ashamed, I hear my mocking voice
Call out among the scoffers.
It was my sin that held Him there,
Until it was accomplished.
His dying breath has brought me life.
I know that it is finished.

I will not boast in anything;
No gifts, no power, no wisdom.
But I will boast in Jesus Christ:
His death and resurrection.
Why should I gain from His reward?
I cannot give an answer.
But this I know with all my heart:
His wounds have paid my ransom.

*************************************************************************************

The advertising which may appear below is not placed by the author
and is not to be considered as a part of this post or an expression of my views.

*************************************************************************************

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to WOULD YOU? Jesus could; He would, and He did!

  1. Debbie says:

    Mentor Angela . .the way you presented this, really impacted me. Thank you for helping us keep sight of all He did for us, all He gave up in order to save us. It makes me cry tonight, but it’s a good cry! God bless you and yours, and your heart of thanks for Him.

    Like

    • Debbie, we can never consider all He gave up for us without being shaken to the core. Then, when we consider that He – perfectly pure, sinless – actually became what was total abomination to Him in order to pay MY penalty . . . well, what can we do except surrender to such love?

      What an incredibly amazing God!

      Like

  2. One would be hard press to find even one person that would do what Jesus did on my behalf. He could have backed out at the last minute but He did not. His love for us is stronger than the pain He felt.

    Thanks so much for sharing Angela. God blesses.

    Like

    • So true Noel. While there are ones who give their lives for others, Jesus did so much more. It is unthinkable that a holy, perfect, sinless God would leave His glory to live as man and actually become sin – the most abominable state, the antithesis of Himself – for ME!

      What an incredibly amazing God!

      Like

Leave a Reply

