HANDS OFF!

The Grand Canyon, carved by the Colorado River in Arizona, is considered to be one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the world. It is 277 miles long, up to 18 miles wide and attains a depth of over a mile.  Its vastness is stunning and the exceptional natural beauty is considered one of the world’s most visually powerful landscapes, with its plunging depths and temple-like buttes.

Of course, it is one of the biggest tourist attractions with nearly five million visitors each year. Most of them see it from their car at lookouts along the South Rim, the most accessible part.  A smaller number of people see the Canyon from the North Rim, which rises a thousand feet higher than the South Rim, but is much less accessible. The Inner Canyon includes everything below the rims and is seen mainly by hikers, mule riders, or river runners.

 MULE RIDES

Mules, chosen for their strength and stability, have been used since the 1920s to carry visitors from around the world down the precipitous canyon trails.  Mule ride tours are considered to be THE way to see and experience the Grand Canyon.

To descend the Grand Canyon it is necessary to travel on narrow ledges with only enough room for a mule to get a foothold. The ribbons of rock that run along the edges of towering cliffs overlook vertical precipices that descend hundreds of feet to the valley below.

Mule riders MUST be prepared to let the mule find its own way.
The slightest touch on the bridle may easily throw both the animal and its rider over the cliff to sudden death.

“Hands off the bridle” is the rule that must be followed for complete safety.

SO IT IS WITH THE BELIEVER’S LIFE

We walk by faith, not by sight.  We have guaranteed victory over the world, the flesh and the devil when we “take our hands off” our own lives and allow Holy Spirit to guide, control, enable and empower us.

If we would keep from having sinful doubts and from falling into despair, we must “lay the bridle” on the neck of faith, committing our way to our God.  No matter the dangers that surround us, we KNOW that HE will never leave us or forsake us; that He will guide and direct us; that His loving arms are around us; that we dwell in safety in Him.

 Proverbs 14:12
There is a way which seems right to man,
but the end thereof is the way of death.

 Psalm 18:30,32 
As for God, His way is perfect . . . And He makes my way perfect.

 Psalm 32:8 
I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go.
I will guide you with My eye.

 Proverbs 3:5-6 
Trust in the Lord with ALL your heart
and do not lean on your own understanding. 

In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths.

 Deuteronomy 33:27 
The eternal God is your Refuge, and underneath are His everlasting arms.

 

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to HANDS OFF!

  1. My cousin, husband, and I were just talking the other evening about not “forcing” things. No matter what the situation, if you have to struggle and keep hitting road blocks and things just don’t seem to be working out, perhaps it is time to back off, and take my hands off the bridle. As a practical application, I will share a recent experience: I have been looking for work, and about a month ago I applied at a store, thought I had a “sure shot” at it, and I did not get the job. The woman said I was “not what she was looking for”. I thought, “oh well”, and let it go, thinking maybe that wasn’t the place God wanted me to be, that maybe God had something else in mind. And then, the coolest thing happened, last week I was in a store that I like (this is the Reader’s Digest “condensed version”), and the owner happened to ask if I was looking for work—long story short–I start to work there next Friday. I didn’t even fill out an application! I think this job is going to be a great “fit” for me. Oh, I’ve rambled on too long here.

    Like

    • Congrats on the job. I hope you have a happy and satisfying employment.

      I know in my life there have been many times when I’ve ‘said’ I was trusting the Lord to do something or other, but I’ve still kept my hands on it – still trying to work out in my mind how things would develop. Only when I’ve taken my hands (and mind) right off, has the Lord worked things out for good.

      I’m sure I don’t understand why we are sometimes so slow to leave things with Him! We KNOW He is not only able but willing and desirous of undertaking for us.

      What an amazing God!

      Like

  2. pbus1 says:

    Another wonderful post Angela! So many wonderful thoughts have been shared, both in your post and the comments. All I will say is, “Let go and let God!” Blessings!

    Paulette

    Like

  3. Lyn Leahz says:

    Thought you might like this one http://lynleahz.com/2012/07/03/father-forgive-me/ I wrote it tonight. God bless you!

    Like

  4. mtsweat says:

    Hands off the bridle = walk by faith. I can attest to the fact that everytime I’ve found my hands back on those reins, things go south. Great analogy friend! God bless.

    Like

    • Same here! At times it is ‘natural’ to try to handle things oneself, but we need to learn that even in the everyday, ordinary things of life, we need His guidance and control. What an amazing God that He desires to keep us on track 24/7.

      Like

  5. admin says:

    Faith and trust in God are so intertwined. Great analogy of the mule riders and trusting the Holy Spirit. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  6. alwayzhis says:

    Yes He is ALL we need, if we just allow Him access to every thing in our life…after all, He is the Great “I AM” ! Very nice comparison! Praying many will read this! I would like to reblog this sometime Angela is that is ok with you.
    May He bless you as we watch and await Our Lord’s return!
    Stephanie ~streim~

    Like

    • Yes Stephanie, He is our great I AM! He is ever present, ever caring, ever working on our behalf; never changing, never ceasing. He is indeed an amazing God!
      You may use my blogs anytime you wish. It is HIS work and freely available to all.
      Angela

      Like

  7. Debbie says:

    What another amazing analogy! I didn’t know that about not being able to touch the bridle on those mule rides. You bet I’d listen up to that rule if I was on a cliff looking down! And so how much more should I obey when God tells me to trust Him! This post is a confirmation and a joy to me, to know that when i trust Him there is no way I’m going to fall or fail in His eyes. All is going according to plan. God bless you as you lean into your amazing God today! Thank you so much for sharing the messages He brings to you!

    Like

    • Debbie, if I was on that mule, I would be wanting to grab hold of the bridle and tell the mule to be careful, that it is going too close to the edge etc. After all, I don’t KNOW the mule.

      Now when it comes to trusting my God, I KNOW Him. I KNOW that whatever He does, wherever He leads me, is RIGHT for me. I KNOW that He will guard and protect. It is so much easier to trust Him, because He has been caring for me for decades and has never let me down. He alone is worthy.

      What an amazing God!

      Like

  8. Rob Barkman says:

    Angela, It is just as you say…. for us to have a “hands off” policy, we must have an unquestioning faith iin the Lord. If we do not have faith and we try to keep our hands off it will only result in tremendous stress and anxiety. But if we trust Him and keep our hands off our life what a peaceful experience, knowing He knows whats best and will care for us every wtep of the way! Lord bless.

    Like

    • Rob, if I look back at all the times I have failed or stumbled, it is plain to see that I was ‘hands ON’ trying to handle things myself. On the other hand, when I think of victories, I can plainly see that they were the times that I was completely ‘hands off’ and He was in control, granting victory.

      Oh that the world could see the tremendous blessings of being led by the Spirit, in surrender to God’s will! Going my own way leads to problems. Yielding to Him and His way leads to an abundance of blessings.

      What an amazing God!

      Like

  9. Noel Williams (prhayz) www.prhayz.com says:

    Hello my friend. I like, how you use realistic situations to make your point. Most people tend to confuse the gospel. I enjoyed reading your post so much that I re-blogged Thanks for sharing. God blesses.

    Like

Leave a Reply

