IT IS TIME TO WAKE UP

The story is told of a trooper on guard duty during an expedition against the Comanches in the Texas Staked Plains.

He lassoed his horse and wrapped his lariat around his body, telling a fellow trooper that if he should fall asleep, his horse wouldn’t stray and would warn him of any danger.

His precaution cost him his life when an approaching buffalo herd spooked the horse and it ran away, dragging the trooper to his death.



THE QUESTION IS,
WHY WOULD A GUARD EVEN
THINK ABOUT SLEEPING?

IT WAS HIS SOLE DUTY TO STAY AWAKE TO PROTECT HIS COMRADES!


Are we Christians too often like that sleeping trooper?
Do we recognise our duties and accept them and perform them diligently?
Do we fall asleep at our tasks by failing to discharge them properly,
or by giving only half-hearted effort?

Ephesians 5:14-16  (Amplified Bible)
Awake you who sleep and rise from the dead
and Christ shall give you light.

Be careful how you live.
Live purposefully, worthily and with exactness,
not as the unwise and witless,
but as wise, sensible and intelligent people;
making the very most of the time,
buying up each opportunity, because the days are evil.

                                              Romans 13:11-12  (Amplified Bible)
You know what a critical hour this is!
It is high time now for you to wake up out of your sleep
and rouse to reality.
For our final deliverance is nearer
than when we first believed.
The night is far gone and the day is almost here.
Let us then fling away the works and deeds of darkness
and put on the full armour of light.

As we consider these verses, we cannot deny that we are living in evil times. We need to walk with exactness because people will judge Christianity (judge Christ) by what they see in us.

We cannot escape the truth that we have an obligation to those around us.

Are we a stepping stone or a stumbling-block?
We ARE either one or the other.

Redeeeming the time,
because the days are evil

Ephesians 5:16

Now is the accepted time;
NOW is the day of salvation
2 Corinthians 6:2

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to IT IS TIME TO WAKE UP

  1. Denise Hisey says:

    Great story! For me, routine can spell disaster sometimes because I don’t pay as close attention as I should when I’m in a rut!

    Like

    • Hi Denise. Thanks for dropping by and commenting.

      I agree routine can be a handicap, but it can also be a blessing if handled properly. My second name is ‘organisation’ and while it is second nature to me, it allows me to get so much more done, in less time. The danger is in becoming a slave to the organisation and losing sight of the goal.

      An old saying says the difference between a groove and a rut is the depth.
      Thinking of the old vinyl records, music was sweet coming from a groove, but if it wore to a rut, it was no longer sweet music.

      Like

  2. Lyn Leahz says:

    I selected you as one of the ten people to receive an award because you are such a blessing to me, and so many other people. God bless you! Go here and follow the instructions http://lynleahz.com/2012/06/29/reader-appreciation-award/

    Like

  3. Ann says:

    God bless you, Angela
    The messes we get ourselves into when we rely on the created rather than the Creator … Oh boy…
    Thanks for sharing
    Blessings
    ann

    Like

    • What a wonderfully victorious life it would be IF ONLY we relied on Him at all times. How foolish we are to think (sometimes) that OUR way is better! The day is coming (one day closer!) when we will worship Him without distractions!

      What an amazing God!

      Like

  4. Well…you had me. I was thinking: fool cowboy. When you queried…why would a guard even think of sleeping. So I think you can add distraction to your list of subtle ways to wander into evil. Thanks for the read.

    Like

  5. jelillie says:

    A powerful word Angela! I long to be a stepping stone that others may find their way to the kingdom through my life!

    Like

    • Yes J – one of the greatest privileges we enjoy is being used by the Lord to reveal Himself to others. How amazing that He chooses to use us! . . . and how shameful if, instead, we are stumbling blocks!
      Lord, shine through us!

      Like

  6. Noel Williams (prhayz) www.prhayz.com says:

    Thank you so much my friend, for this very refreshing and inspiring post. It reminds me an awful of the song; “Awake Zion, awake and trim your lamps.”

    May God bless you richly.

    Like

    • Thanks Noel. I think the call to ‘trim our lamps’ is very appropriate.
      While all we can say with any confidence is that we are one day closer, I really think ‘NOW’ is the only time we have, and we must use it.

      Like

  7. Debbie says:

    I think He meant this one for me. There has been something He has asked me to do, but I haven’t been doing it to the best of my abilities, or as often as I could . . .and it’s something that I do love to do. And He helps me do. So, thank you, mentor Angela, for your obedience to Him and the warning and messages you share with us! Now’s the time! God bless you as you make the most of each day for Him!

    Like

    • Debbie, I know you are in for a running-over cup full of blessings as you allow Him to enable you to do what He requires you to do. Your joy will be boundless.
      May we all be willing to give immediate obedience to His directions, for NOW is really the only time we are guaranteed.

      We serve an amazing God who DELIGHTS to use us in His ministry. To HIM alone be the glory!

      Like

  8. Freedomborn says:

    Sorry Angela I forgot to change over to Ron’s e-mail on his comment , I have to post his comments for him now, his e-mail address has been blocked.

    A very powerful message again but needed, thank you Angela and you are for sure not sleeping on the job… We are to share His Love in words and actions from our heart, we share His Hope, we share His encouragement, we share His instruction and we share His warnings.

    Christian Love Anne.

    Like

    • Thanks Anne. We love to share His love and encouragement. We have received so much that it just overflows.
      However, we are also called to proclaim His warnings – not such an enjoyable task, but so vitally necessary as time runs out. I look forward with much joy to Christ’s return, but when I think of those who will be left behind, I pray for a little more time.

      Christian love to you and Ron
      Angela

      Like

  9. Freedomborn says:

    I like the idea of the stepping stone or stumbling block, made me think how I should aim to be that stepping stone . So that I could facilitate others getting higher and further in their walk with the Lord, helping them by my encouragement and support and prayers and His instruction.

    Thanks Angela for this message.

    blessings
    Ron

    Like

    • A stepping stone – such a privilege! Incredible yet true that the omnipotent creator God should use us weaklings to lead others to Him!

      A stumblingblock – such a shame! What an incentive to holy living! I hate to think that any attitude, word or action would be a stumblingblock to someone knowing Christ!

      Ron, I am sure you allow the light of Christ to shine forth from you to others, making stepping-stones for them towards faith in Christ.

      What a privilege!
      What an amazing God!

      Like

      • PS Ron, do you have your maroon jumper out for tomorrow night?
        Seven in a row (hopefully) will be something to celebrate!

        Like

        • Ron says:

          Angela thank you for your comments and what an awesome responsibilty we have, just to be that stepping stone, so thankful we don’t have to do it alone!

          Yes of course Angela, it goes without saying my maroon cap and jumper couldn`t do the trick this time, as you say would have been 7 in a row, glad you still follow NRL. Decider in Brissie that`ll do it eh ?

          blessings
          Ron

          Like

  10. alwayzhis says:

    If it was possible to “hear audibly” my response to your post, I’d be shouting AMEN!!!!!!!!!

    Like

    • Thanks alwayzhis. We serve an amazing God who empowers and enables us to continue the work of Christ on earth. I believe the time is running out and while I look for His coming with joy, I yearn to see many more come to know Him before it is too late.

      Like

  11. Rob Barkman says:

    Angela, When you say… “As we consider these verses, we cannot deny that we are living in evil times. We need to walk with exactness because people will judge Christianity (judge Christ) by what they see in us.” I couldn’t agree with you more.

    Whether Christ will be back today or 100 years from now (personally, I believe it will be soon) … one thing is certain, the times we are living in is filled with evil and there is a multitudes around us need to hear about our Lord through our words and our lives. Lord bless you as you serve our Sovereign Lord.

    Like

    • We seem to be on the same wavelength Rob. We need to pull up our socks and get even more serious while we still have time.

      I found this comment of yours in my spam – along with 16 others which were spam. Have you had a mass of spam lately? I didn’t get any for weeks, but have been receiving up to 6 a day for the last week – and then 16 today. Why do they do it? None of their words make sense!

      Like

      • Rob Barkman says:

        Yes, I am getting an increasing number of spams… but I am with you I do not understand why they do it. I have tried to see if wordpress has said anything about increased spam but I couldnt find anything dated recently. I’ll have to start checking my spam more often if they are starting to include good posts in with the bad. Normally, they do a really good job separating the good from the bad. Lord bless… happy spam sorting!

        Like

Leave a Reply

