NOTHING LESS – Two who agree

Two distinctively different famous men agree on a principle.

ENRICO CARUSO – arguably the best tenor who ever lived

A committee once asked Enrico Caruso, the great tenor, to sing at a concert to benefit a charity.

The chairman told him, “Of course, Mr Caruso, as this is a charity affair, we would not expect much. Your name alone will be enough to draw a huge crowd, so you can sing something that doesn’t require much effort.”

Caruso stood tall and said, “Gentlemen, Caruso NEVER does LESS than His BEST!”

Can we, in the service of the King of kings,
say we NEVER do LESS than ourBEST?

Are there works in the service of the King of kings that we treat as of lesser value and give less of our effort and diligence?  (as inferred by the above committee)

If we were asked to do something for the Queen of England, or the President of America, or some other high power, would we give MORE effort, more practice, MORE DILIGENCE to the work than we do in our service for the King of kings?

What about our “secret” service?  What about our commitment to our walk with Christ – the time spent studying His Word and communicating with our Father seeking His will?  Do we give OUR BEST?

Can we, in the service of the King of kings,
say we NEVER do LESS than our BEST?

STEVE PREFONTAINE (affectionately called “Pre”) was an American middle and long distance runner who held many records.

He once held the American record in all seven distance track events from the 2,000 meters to the 10,000 meters.

HE NEVER SETTLED
FOR LESS THAN THE BEST!

Steve Prefontaine’s famous quote is:

TO GIVE ANYTHING LESS THAN THE BEST
IS TO SACRIFICE THE GIFT

 

Each Christian has been given the gift of spiritual life
and that of representing Christ on earth.
Each Christian has been given at least one gift of the Holy Spirit.

 NOT TO USE THE GIFT
OR TO GIVE ANYTHING LESS THAN THE BEST
IS TO SACRIFICE THE GIFT

Can we, in the service of the King of kings,
say we NEVER do LESS than our BEST?

Romans 12:1-2
I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God,
that you present your bodies a living sacrifice,
holy, acceptable to God,
which is your reasonable service.
And do not be conformed to this world,
but be transformed by the renewing of your mind,
that you may prove
what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to NOTHING LESS – Two who agree

  1. Pingback: King Of Kings « Poetry Writers Book Shop

  2. Ann says:

    Thanks for sharing, Angela

    “Can we, in the service of the King of kings,
    say we NEVER do LESS than our BEST?”
    I want to say yes… but I know the answer is no.

    Echoing Rob : “Lord have mercy on all of us”

    Blessings
    ann

    Like

    • In our minds and in our hearts, we KNOW that He deserves ONLY our very, very best. Our desire is to give Him our best, and yet we all too often fail. We are soooooooooooo thankful for His mercy, His love, His continued work in our lives, slowly bringing us to the place of perfection, when we will be WITH Him and be LIKE Him!

      What a truly amazing God!

      Like

  3. Freedomborn says:

    Hi Angela, a great message and very True, when two agree on God’s Truth, not man’s understanding of course, then it’s agreed in Heaven, our prayers have power too when we pray in the Spirit and in Unity.

    As for the housework I must Post a fun message for you about that, I received it a few years ago and thought it made a lot of sense, so now I just sit back and relax …well sought of!

    Christian Love Anne

    Like

  4. jelillie says:

    Thank you for this challenging word Angela! May I be found giving my everything as HE gave me His all!

    Like

  5. Debbie says:

    Thank you for challenging us with these 2 quotes, mentor Angela! Praying for His help to not slack off when what I am doing isn’t “seen” by anyone else but Him. Thinking I will always have room for improvement as far as doing my best, but want to have that right heart attitude as I serve Him every time! God bless you and the way you encourage us in Christ! love and prayers!

    Like

    • I doubt if any of us can say we ALWAYS do our best, Debbie, but that quote from Pre really challenged me. I don’t want to sacrifice the gift.
      I love the way you use your gift on your blog. You encourage so many as you condense a very important message to just a few words, without leaving anything out. I know He will continue to use you and the gift He has given you.
      What an amazing God!

      Like

  6. Rob Barkman says:

    I’m afraid all of us are guilty of not giving our best in our Lord’s service from time to time. I had a Pastor many years ago who asked the question… “Do we ever really give HIm our best?”.

    Another interesting thought is this… “Do we ever perfectly please HIm in our service?”
    All of our service is tainted by our fallen nature. Nothing we ever do for Him is totally without sin.
    Lord have mercy on us all (and I’m thankful He does show us that mercy everyday!)

    Lord bless you… thanks for another God-glorifying posting.

    Like

    • Thanks for adding that thought about our service. When we consider the total dedication and strict routine of our top sports people, much as we applaud their efforts, our own effort pales by comparison . . . and ours is for a much more worthy cause!

      I was really challenged by that quote of Steve Prefontaine’s.

      We serve an amazing God who requires and is entitled to, our very best.

      Like

  7. Ron says:

    Thanks Angela for that interesting message, I certainly enjoyed it . Some one said, work as hard for the boss when he isnt there as when he is, in other words expect to give 100% all the time .

    blessings
    Ron

    Like

    • A good point, Ron. We should always give our best, in everything we do . . . but I know I don’t always do so. I’ll be taking time off this morning to give my house a THOROUGH cleaning instead of am under-par effort.
      Angela

      Like

Leave a Reply

