THE BEST THING?

Wars – fatal accidents – terrorist attacks – murders – street gangs – ram raids – armed robberies – natural disasters –  financial crisis – political disasters – GLOOM and DOOM!  Our news reports are mostly bad news.

Many people of the older generation have happy memories of the family dinner table, which was the very centre of family life, and where people would share jokes, talk about their day, share problems, give and get advice etc.

The advent of TV killed this in many homes and the hectic life style killed it in many more, with people rushing off to various pursuits.

 These days, too much talk is negative. There are always complaints. If the news is on during the meal, there is more negativity.

When my granddaughter was quite young, her parents introduced what has become a tradition in their family.

After the evening meal, my granddaughter is asked “What is the BEST thing that happened to you today?” After relating the best thing, she then asks everyone present the same question.  Dinner time at my son’s table is a happy time of sharing and the happiest part is that “What is the BEST thing that happened to you today?”  I think this is a marvellous tradition.

There is always something we can be thankful for, and thinking of that, lessens the impact of lesser things.

For Christians of course, we have all the promises of God and the REALITY of our communion with Him.  We know that HE is in control and we can rest secure and confident in Him. 

Deuteronomy 33:27
The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms.

Psalm 15:11
You will show me the path of life; in Your presence is fullness of joy;
at Your right hand there are pleasures for evermore.

Psalm 32:8
I will instruct you and teach you in the way you shall go.
I will guide you with Mine eye.

HOW WOULD YOU RESPOND TO THE QUESTION:

“WHAT IS THE BEST THING THAT HAPPENED TO YOU TODAY?”

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to THE BEST THING?

  1. Debbie says:

    What a beautiful tradition, mentor Angela! It seems so easy for every one to tell what bad thing happened to them, to focus on that instead of something good. I had so many best things today! :) So, one of the best things that happened was the fact that I get to be here to take care of my daughter! I am so thankful for that and the “team” we make, as today we delivered a little paper route together. (well, she watches and I deliver, but she makes it fun by blowing bubbles and talking to me the whole time.) God bless you and all the wonderful things you thank Him for today!

    Like

    • Debbie, Thank you for sharing that “best thing”. Your daughter did extremely well in choosing her Mother! (OK she didn’t choose, but she couldn’t have chosen a better one!)
      The Lord blesses abundantly and we should always take time to acknowledge them and to thank Him.
      We serve an amazing God!

      Like

  2. Ann says:

    Thanks for sharing, Angela

    I have been thinking about your post since I first read it this morning. I realize I have more to be thankful for than I gave thought to.
    Many good things happened to me today… The best one I guess is that I had an opportunity to speak with three members of my family who live far away from me. I cherish the moments.
    Tonight I will continue in thanksgiving when I read Him my list of ‘thankfuls’

    God bless you
    ann

    Like

    • As one whose five sons live a long way away, (one in New York) I identify with being able to talk with them often. I am sooooooooo thankful for modern technology, even if I don’t understand it!
      Isn’t it great to “read Him our list of thankfuls”?
      Indeed he is an amazing God!

      Like

  3. Freedomborn says:

    The best thing that has happened to me so far today is reading your Post Angela because it assured me once again that the best thing in Life is knowing God Loves us unconditionally and that He would never cause us to suffer or have hardship or willingly allow it but instead He…..

    Deuteronomy 33:27
    The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms.

    Psalm 15:11
    You will show me the path of life; in Your presence is fullness of Joy;
    at Your right hand there are pleasures for evermore.

    Psalm 32:8
    I will instruct you and teach you in the way you shall go.
    I will guide you with Mine eye.

    How Awesome is our God!

    Christian Love Anne.

    Like

    • He is totally awesome, Anne, and He DELIGHTS to bless His children. Thanks for sharing your “best things” and I trust you will enjoy many, many more this day and every day.

      What an amazing God.

      Like

      • Freedomborn says:

        Another good thing that happened today Angela was that I got your reply in my Inbox, how good is that my friend, ask and you will receive, we do indeed have an Awesome God who guides and helps us in all things, He does not put obstacles in our way or make it hard for us, He treats us much better then we do those we deeply Love. He teaches us with kindness and gentleness.

        His discipline comes because He gives us the freedom to choose what we want but when we don’t submit willingly and rebel we take ourselves out from under His care and His greater blessings and it is not nice suffering the bad consequences of our wrong doing or our rebellion and living without God’s Peace and Joy reminds us it’s very True that no discipline is nice.

        He never stops Loving us and it grieves Him to see us suffer but like the Prodigal son’s Father He waits for us to come to our senses and return willingly, or He rescues us when we call for help with a humble heart, He also rebukes, warns and chastises us through His word and Christians who walk in obedience but this is in Love and for Love even when it is direct and firm.

        I Love you in The Lord Angela, we are Sisters – Anne.

        Like

        • I’m pleased you are getting notifications Anne.

          I don’t know if I’m right, but I have a theory. For quite some time, the “notify me of follow up comments” box was already clicked. Now it is once again not clicked. Since this last change, I am not getting notifications of some friends.

          Other changes have taken place and are still taking place, and I wouldn’t be surprised if other things are somehow getting mixed up in these changes. Have you tried to follow “tags” lately? I tried a little while ago and eventually got there – well, sort of – but it is all very different now and I don’t think as good as it was. But we can’t complain. It is a good site.

          Christian love
          Angela

          Like

  4. Rob Barkman says:

    To answer your question… the best thing that happened to me today was that the Lord allowed me to wake up and know that I was eternally secure in Him. When I start the day by thinking on this it seems to put in perspective anything I might be facing that day. Lord bless! Thanks for a great idea.

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing Rob. To wake knowing that the Lord’s presence is guaranteed throughout the day is a great blessing. To know that He is there to guide and direct, to empower and enable, to correct and re-direct, to give us the right words to speak . . . all that and so much more, is simply incredible. To know that the omnipotent, creator God should love ME and desire MY company is beyond comprehension – but it is a REALITY!

      Certainly to wake knowing this is a great start toi the day – and will give me numerous responses if I’m asked the best thing that happened through the day.

      What an amazing God!

      Like

  5. findingtheway777 says:

    I really like that idea. I am just waking up now but the best thing that happened to me yesterday was the time spent driving my son around. It gave me time to talk to him about changes happening in his ife. It is a tough time in his life but we had time to listen to each other and he was taking my advice. He’s 17, so listening to each other and him taking my advice is the best thing that happen to me yesterday. I will try this idea. Thank you.

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing that. I trust the sharing between you will continue and will help him through the troubled years of his age group. I believe teenagers are the most vulnerable people in our society and pray that the Lord will use you to help him.

      We serve an amazing God!

      Like

Leave a Reply

