LET GO!

An old man and his grandson happily fed some doves on the window sill of his home.  After feeding they flew and perched on a cable outside the window.

The grandfather told the boy, “You see that cable?  It carries a heavy current of electricity. It is carefully insulated at every pole and is beyond the reach of humans.   If I could reach out far enough to touch that wire, death would be as swift as a lightning strike.”

 

“You helped me to feed those doves on my window sill. Now you see them perched on that wire which would kill me instantly if I touched it, but they are safe and contented. How are they able to do that?  Why doesn’t the cable kill them?”

He went on to explain to his grandson that when the doves touch that wire,
THEY TOUCH NOTHING ELSE.
If he could reach out far enough to touch the wire,
he would still be touching the house
and the house would act as an earth
and turn his body into a channel
through which the electricity would flow with fatal results.

BECAUSE THE DOVES TOUCH NOTHING BUT THE WIRE,
THEY ARE UNHARMED

What does that say to the Christian?

God would have us seek our safety
in complete surrender to Him and His will. 

We need to  LET GO  of  EVERYTHING  else
and trust  ONLY  in the living God

It is when we reach ONE hand to Him
while still holding on to some earthly pleasure with the OTHER hand
that we are in danger of being ensnared and trapped by that thing.

1 John 2:15
Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world.

Philippians 4:6
Let your requests be made known UNTO GOD

Let us trust Thee evermore;
Every moment on Thee call
For new life, new will, new power;
Let us trust Thee, Lord for ALL.
May we NOTHING know beside
Jesus and Him crucified!
Joseph Hart

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to LET GO!

  1. Pingback: Two Great Analogies « Christianity 201

  2. snowgood says:

    Hello Angela, another good post. I thought of you today as I picked up a lovely Aussie hitching a lift from Totnes. Linda was from Perth and spoke about Buddhism – I spoke about Peter and Jesus on the water!

    Like

  3. “It is when we reach ONE hand to Him
    while still holding on to some earthly pleasure with the OTHER hand
    that we are in danger of being ensnared and trapped by that thing.”

    So true…so convicting…

    “I would rather you were hot or cold, but because you are lukewarm, I will spit you out…”

    Like

    • In the Christian Church, where APATHY has NO place, it seems to be prevalent. Many Christians are ‘on fire’ but I would venture to say most are characterised by lukewarmness towards Christ and His service. What a shame!

      “Let me burn ouit for Thee, dear Lord: burn and wear out for Thee.
      Don’t let me rust, or my life be a failure, dear God to Thee.
      Take me and all I have, dear Lord, and get me so close to Thee
      That I feel the throb of the deep heart of God
      Until I wear out for Thee.”

      Like

  4. pbus1 says:

    Total surrender, complete trust, and dependence on the Lord! That is the key indeed! Sometimes the water becomes murky, because I might be adding my two cents while someone else is in my ear, when all should be left up to God alone! Thank you Angela, for another great lesson, and a timely reminder to let go of everything else, and to trust God alone! Truly, Jesus is the answer! God bless!

    Paulette

    Like

  5. jelillie says:

    This is so true Angela. How many times have I hedged my bets with Jesus? Oh I say I trust him. But how often have I held on to a plan b in my back pocket? How faithful He is to wait and encourage my trust!

    Like

    • Plan B – it’s a problem, isn’t it? Although for me it isn’t so much a plan B as it is trying to work out how He is going to handle His plan A. I try to figure that maybe He’ll get someone to do this, and someone else that, etc. The He reminds me that He is control and will work things HIS way when I let go. And He always does work it work when I let go – not usually the way I’d figured it!

      What an amazing God!

      Like

  6. granbee says:

    Cloudwatcher, I declare this the best teaching I have ever read on how we should touch God–and nothing else! The things of the Divine and of this world do not mix! We endanger ourselves over and over because we do not show the simple wisdom of those doves sitting on those electrical wires!

    Like

    • Thank you Granbee. The things of this world crowd in; the voices of friends crowd in; so many distractions; so much advice! It is when we turn things over to the Lord and LEAVE them in His hands that we experience HIS victory! It is when we submit to the Lord completely, disallowing any other attachments which would hinder our fellowship, that we know His joy, His peace, His close fellowship, His enabling, His “more than conquerors” in our lives.

      We KNOW it, and yet we are sometimes so easily distracted . . . but then our loving, merciful Father draws us back to Himself.

      What an amazing God!

      Like

  7. Rob Barkman says:

    How important it is to totally give ourselves over to His watchcare and Lordship!

    Ps 62:2 (KJV) He only [is] my rock and my salvation; [he is] my defence; I shall not be greatly moved.

    Truly He is the ONLY One upoon which we should be relying! Lord bless you. Another wonderful posting. Thank you

    Like

    • I’m sure many look on the real Christian life as restrictive and negative, but in fact it is the opposite. It may SEEM restrictive not to particpate in many activities or to be dependent on an unseen power, but we who know the REALITY of the presence and power of the living God and who enjoy the abundant life He gives, know it is a truly positive life with very rich rewards.

      We serve an amazing, giving God!

      Like

  8. Freedomborn says:

    A wonderful message Angela, how easy to become wrapped up with the material things of this world or even seeking man’s approval instead of God’s and living to please others instead of Him.

    God tells us we cannot Love Him and money and that includes what it can buy, being on a Pension means we don’t have a lot of money but we always have enough sometimes more when extra is needed, we are not extravagant and appreciate a bargain and most of my clothes are second hand, sadly I as told because of this I didn’t value myself but God tells us it’s not clothes or the outside that the world sees but our heart that shows our True value, today many have lost the real meaning of what God considers important, thank you for the reminder.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    Like

    • Hi Anne. When we ‘have God’ we don’t need anything else, do we? Of course, we have friends and loved ones who encourage us, but we don’t live to please them and we don’t depend on material things. Our God supplies all our NEEDS.

      We serve an amazing God!

      Like

  9. Debbie says:

    Wow Mentor Angela . . what a powerful post and that image and scene of the doves touching nothing but the wire, so they don’t get shocked. My brain was trying to think where you were going with this . .. but didn’t see it coming! I loved this and it has made a lasting impression on me! Praying to just hold on to Him, my Everything! God bless you ! love and prayers!

    Like

    • Well, Deb, here’s another one about doves – or any birds, including household chickens. Have you seen them asleep on a wire or a perch? Why don’t they fall off? Because their knees are bent and ‘locked’ in that position, so they can’t fall or let go. Lesson for us? Bend our knees in prayer and we will have that stability.

      What an amazing God!

      Like

  10. Ann says:

    Thank you, Angela
    Great post! ( The second in as many days pointing me back to trusting Him FULLY….)
    Blessings,
    ann

    Like

    • Thanks Ann. It is so easy to THINK we are trusting Him – until He gently reminds us to ‘let go’ and leave it ENTIRELY in His hands. Isn’t it great that He DOES remind us – He will never leave us, but He does seek our TOTAL surrender of all things to Him.

      What an amazing God!

      Like

Leave a Reply

