KEEP IT SECRET? Why was that impossible?

Some gold prospectors discovered an exceptionally rich gold mine. They decided to keep it secret. They would have their fortune made provided nobody found out before they were able to stake their claims.  Each of them vowed to keep the secret. They wouldn’t even tell their families.

Because they needed more tools and some provisions, they headed into town. They kept out of the pubs because they knew that under the influence of alcohol they could drop word of their secret.

They bought all the supplies they needed and hurried back to the mine site.

They had been very careful – but they were not alone. A crowd of people followed at a distance.

 WHY?  How did they know?

Not one of them had said a word about their discovery . . .
but it was clearly written on their faces! 

They couldn’t hide the joy. They stood taller. They had a purpose in life.

They had changed from trudging through life, hopeful but beaten,
to walking with a spring in their step and faces alive with hope.

They didn’t have to SAY anything!
What happens on the INSIDE shows on the outside.

Joyful Christians, with the light of God on their faces,
are needed in the darkness of this world.
The fruit of the Spirit should set us apart as being different.

While it is our responsibility to TELL of the Good News,
the CHANGE it makes in a life should be so CLEARLY EVIDENT
that people will ask us WHY we are different. 
They will WANT what we have.

Lord,
You are more precious than gold.

Do I get more excited about ‘things’
than I do about You?

Does my knowing You  SHOW?
Do I reveal YOU
to those with whom I come in contact?

Lord, take me, mould me and use me
to lift You higher so that others may see YOU.

When I lift You up, You will draw them to Yourself.

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to KEEP IT SECRET? Why was that impossible?

  1. Freedomborn says:

    Hi Angela, thank you and I agree if we are happy express it and share it, thankfully people say to me that I’m real, I don’t wear a mask and that they appreciate this it gives them the freedom to be real too. We can have deep inner Joy and still have a tear in our eye, Jesus cried and was known as a man of sorrows and acquainted with grief, He was not pleasant to the eye, there was nothing to attract people to Him, His teaching was sometimes hard, direct and to the point, He didn’t play the worlds popularity games and yet many followed Him, He wasn’t happy clappy but He was Loving, compassionate, merciful, forgiven, and understanding, He cried with people, He deeply cared for them, He stood up for His Father, He was real, He got angry, He showed disappointment and frustration. Many worldly people Laugh and Joke, it has been said … Laugh and the world Loves with you cry and you cry alone, Jesus tells us the opposite …come to me you who are heavy burdened ….

    If your Happy and you know it clap your hands , if your sad don’t be afraid to let others know it, your free to show it.

    God’s Word meaning His Truth will not return to Him Void it is powerful, it is this we preach not ourselves.

    Christian Love from both of us.

    Like

    • If more of God’s children let the Lord shine from them, the world could be turned upside down.

      Like

      • Freedomborn says:

        So very True Angela, but what many fail to understand is His Light is Love, this is His reflection that shines, I just posted a Power point about Love for Cathy called Wistera, I’m going to do her Spotlight after yours. I have now picked your Post, with it being Easter I chose your last one, I hope that is ok with you.

        Christian Love Anne.

        Like

        • A good choice. Thank you Anne. His love shines through you as you minister here.
          Angela

          PS I am posting very brief comments, trying to catch up after being away for a while. We are leaving Thursday for a week away. I will not be here during that time, so don’t worry when you don’t see me.

          Like

  2. Rob Barkman says:

    Angela, Just wanted to say thank you for all your encouragement over the past year or so. Lord bless you.
    Here is a portion of my posting….
    Angela at Meeting In The Clouds – Angela used a combination of true stories, illustration and art to present the principles from God’s Word for daily living. Through her postings that Angela presents the Word of God in a very understandable, sound manner. It is always a blessing to see the unique way that Angela presents the Word.

    http://wp.me/pU88A-AU

    Like

  3. Ron says:

    Letting you know Angela that I have nominated you for three Awards no rules, to thank you and encourage you.

    http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2012/03/22/rons-corner-3-awards/

    Blessings
    Ron

    Like

  4. jelillie says:

    Joyful Christians are truly needed Angela. Our joy will be strength when all else fails!

    Like

    • “Count it all joy when you fall into various trials” . . . we can and do, because we know the purposes of God. May that joy and peace SHOW forth from us so that others will see we have strength and enabling from above.

      Like

  5. Ann says:

    P.S.
    Angela Dear,

    May I please trouble you for a subscribe box? I don’t want to miss any of your posts …. :-)

    Many thanks,
    ann

    Like

    • Ann, I am not at all techno. I wouldn’t have a clue how to include a subscribe box. I’ve looked through things on my dashboard and can’t see anything there. How do I do it?
      I have received emails from WordPress saying that **** is now following your blog, so I guess there must be a way to do it, but I don’t know how.

      Like

      • Ann says:

        Thanks Angela

        I can’t find the button at all…. :-(

        Some days I pop by and see my favorites and then other days I pop in and find I missed 3 or 4 lovely new favorites that I end up reading in catch-up mode.

        I’ll keep at it . I learn too much here to miss out :-)

        Blessings to you , lovely lady
        Ann

        Like

  6. Ann says:

    Thank you, Angela :-)

    I wonder what’s showing on my face…. Much to think about? We don’t go around looking into mirrors all day, so we don’t always know what our faces are saying. We have more to think about. If my face doesn’t reflect His peace and joy, then seriously, what am I reflecting?

    Blessings
    ann

    Like

    • I am sure you reflect His love, peace and joy Ann. Isn’t it just amazing that even when we are ‘cast down’ with the cares of this world, or we are treated wrongly, we can still feel at peace, knowing that our victory is assured in Him?

      What an amazing God!

      Like

  7. Rob Barkman says:

    1Pet 1:7-8 – …Jesus Christ: Whom having not seen, ye love; in whom, though now ye see [him] not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory:

    What a testimony for us all to be so in love with our Lord that we rejoice with joy speakable!!!

    Lord bless you… another wonderful posting.

    Like

  8. Ron says:

    So good Angela great subject and analogy to Christian life. And it`s so true as you say ,what drives and motivates you what animates you , eventually must show , must come out. I would dearly love my faith in the Lord to be so evidenced that all could see, guess I`m working on that.!

    blessings
    Ron

    Like

  9. Debbie says:

    This is so so good, Mentor Angela! And, this is exactly how I came to Christ! :) I was going to an exercise / aerobic place. The owner was a Christian and many of her clients were as well. They were so much fun! They always were laughing and cracking jokes and making me laugh too. I didn’t know Christians laughed. haha! One night it was just her and I . She asked if I knew Jesus and invited me to church. I went and went forward at the first altar call! :)
    God bless you as you share His joy with us all!! love and prayers!

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing that testimony Deb. It reminds me of a lady who became a Christian but her policeman husband wasn’t. He was convinced to come to a Sunday School picnic outing and was completely astounded at the amount of fun there – without alcohol. The only fun he knew of was after a few drinks. The obvious joy of life and friendliness of the people was used in his coming to know Christ.

      Like

  10. snowgood says:

    Going back 4 generations some of my Cornish ancestors emigrated to the USA in the “Gold Rush”. I’m not sure what became of them, by the time I was born there was just one great Auntie left in Boston.

    Like

Leave a Reply

