CHANGED and CHANGING

Changed and changing

A poor peasant girl admired the statue of a maiden in a small park area in her town. The maiden had a beautiful face and a graceful figure clothed with a robe. The girl stood and admired the maiden, gazing into her face.

She went home and thoroughly washed her face and she brushed her hair until it was soft and falling in gentle waves about her shoulders. She went back to the statue again the next day and gazed again in awe at the beauty before her.  She went home and washed and mended her tattered clothes.  Day by day, as she gazed at the statue, she changed.  She walked back home with her head in the air, instead of slouching, hunched over, as usual.  She became more graceful and was transformed in her appearance and in her actions.

When I think back to the time before I knew Christ I see a completely different person to the one I am now. I see numerous changes over the years – not just changes brought about by age – but changes in my personality, my habits, my attitudes, my desires.

What brought about these changes?

Looking each day into the face of my Saviour; learning more and more about Him and about the way He has planned for me; reading His love-letter to me; learning to trust Him more and more; allowing Him to guide me, challenge me and correct me, and walking the road of life with Him – allowing Him to change me, for He alone is able.

Am I there yet? 

No way! But I have complete confidence that He will continue His work in me, perfecting me, until He is able to present me faultless before the throne.  [Philippians 1:6. Jude 24. Ephesians 5:27]

What can I do?

Of myself, nothing.  I cannot change me, but the more I gaze into His face, the more He will change me into His own likeness; the more He will conform me to His own image.  [Romans 8:29.  Ephesians 4:13]

 And one day He will present me FAULTLESS before the presence of His glory
Jude 24

WHAT AN AMAZING GOD!

#  However Christlike we may become, we are still in the process of ‘being changed’ ~ John Stott

#  The sum total of being a Christian is to become like the One we worship ~ anon

#  No Christian is where he ought to be spiritually until the beauty of Jesus is reproduced in his daily Christian life ~ A W Tozer

 

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to CHANGED and CHANGING

  1. Wonderful! Love the quote by Tozer. Praise the LORD that we are a new creation. We are all works in progress and can be changed when we are will to allow HIM to change us. I pray that you continued to be used of our LORD to minister to others.
    Blessings,
    Dulcinea :)

    Like

    • Hi Dulcinea. Welcome.
      I like the Tozer quote too (I like his writings). “By their fruits ye shall know them” is true, but sadly we don’t see it as much as we should – and I am as guilty as others.

      If we allowed ‘the beauty of Jesus to be reproduced in our daily Christian life’ more, we would affect those with whom we came in contact. They would see Jesus and the world would be changed.

      We know His changing work will continue in us. May we be willing to be molded into His image.
      Angela

      Like

  2. Reblogged this on In Love With The Lord and commented:
    Amen!

    Like

  3. admin says:

    Love the illustration. We become what we think and gaze upon. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Debbie says:

    I loved this, Mentor Angela. My smile widened as I realized where you were going, with us looking upon Jesus and being changed. May I keep gazing at Him! I sometimes feel so different that I don’t think people will recognize me any more. haha!
    God bless you as you keep your eyes on the One who changes everything!
    love and prayers!

    Like

    • Debbie, sometimes I feel as though all my posts say the same thing, but we can only post as we are led. He has just given me another topic – “How to be saved by your good looks”. I’m not sure where this one is going yet, but at least I know they all point to the Lordship of Christ and the amazing-ness of our Father God.

      Let’s keep on looking to Him and being a soft clay that He can mold into His likeness.

      Like

  5. Rob Barkman says:

    Your posting reminded me of Eph 2:10, where we are told that we are His “workmanship”. The Greek word for “workmanship” is the word we get “poem” from. In other words, our life is an ongoing poem that the Lord is continually writing.
    What a blessing to think of our lives as a piece of pottery formed by the Lord, a poem being written by the Lord, or as you say… an image of God being made into a likeness of Him. What a wonderful Lord we serve!

    Like

    • What a wonderful Lord indeed! Words could never express His wonder. There are not enough superlatives to even scratch the surface of His greatness – and yet Jesus was willing to humble Himself to become one of us. Incredible but true.

      What an amazing God!

      Like

  6. pbus1 says:

    Hi Angela,

    This brought to mind, a lump of clay on the Potter’s wheel, being transformed by the hands of the Potter! That lump of clay being me, and may He continue to work on me! Lord, help me to decrease, that you would increase in my life! I want to be like you. “The sum total of being a Christian is to become like the One we worship.” Amen! God bless you, Angela!

    Paulette

    Like

  7. budsummers says:

    thanks for the words of encouragement. Hope I can do the same for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

