ONLY 7 MINUTES

A bus driver became annoyed with his job because he had to wait 7 minutes after every run  parked in a turn around area near open ground which litterbugs had made into an unofficial dump. He sat in his bus, sulking and complaining about the thoughtless people who had made such a mess.

SOMEBODY should DO something!

One day he decided to get out of the bus and pick up some of the tin cans and other rubbish lying around. He was amazed at how different it looked after just seven minutes.
In fact, it was so improved that he packed a few work tools in his bus next day and actually looked forward to the turn-around point of his route.  He spent his 7 minutes a day clearing the area, and he became more excited about the improvements.

He cut snippings from his shrubs at home and cultivated them and transplanted them in “his” turn around area. He bought some more mature plants and also planted some flower seeds.

Within a few months many were riding to the end of the line just to see what he had accomplished by DOING something about the eyesore he had complained of before.

He only had 7 minutes at a time, but he made those minutes count.

What lessons can we learn from this bus driver?

Firstly, I think of all the “7 minutes” I have wasted. 
Maybe I can no longer do enormous tasks,
but I have many “7 minutes” which I could use to achieve some purpose
and bring help/joy/encouragement/benefit to others.

Then I think of the gap
which seems to exist in many Churches and individual Christians,
between preaching and practice:
between belief and action. 

Belief MUST take fruit in actions, or it is dead.

What do I complain about that *I* could do something about?

How many times do I say ’someone’ should do something,
when I am capable of doing it myself?

 Mr Anon says:

Wasting time is a kind of unarmed robbery

All time is lost that can be better used

Waste of time is the most extravagant and costly of all expenses

Use time for the things that outlast it

I have only just a minute –
Just sixty seconds in it:
Forced upon me – can’t refuse it;
Didn’t seek it, didn’t choose it.
I must suffer if I lose it,
Give account if I abuse it.
Just a tiny little minute –
But eternity is in it!

 

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ONLY 7 MINUTES

  1. admin says:

    Seven minutes a day can be life changing. When we get our direction from spending time with Jesus, his wind blows on us changing our perspective on our circumstances. Thanks your post.

    Like

  2. pbus1 says:

    Thank you Angela! This message was very encouraging to me, and I take it personally to heart! It is truly amazing, what can be accomplished, and put into action in increments of 7 min. at a time per day, that I waste. I take this as a challenge. I’m going to share this one on twitter! God bless you!

    Like

  3. Rob Barkman says:

    Angela,

    Think of how much of the Scripture we could read in 1 year if we simply read the Bible 7 minutes a day! That would equal 2500+ minutes a year, (or more than 40 hours a year.) It would be like we are spending 1 full work week per year in the Scriptures…. it is an amazing thought!

    Like

    • What better way to spend 7 minutes? Then again, since we all have more than one “7 spare minutes” in a day, there is also opportunity to put into action what we learn from the 7 minutes in the Word. If we all used our spare 7 minutes wisely the world would be a better place.

      Like

  4. Debbie says:

    This one is for me, Mentor Angela! I can’t do big things that take a lot of time either . . .and so then can shy away from what looks like too big of a project. But done this way, in just small amounts of time, otherwise wasted? You have blessed me and encouraged me to look for more things I CAN do in my little bits of time! God bless you, precious daughter of His, as you avail yourself to Him and to us! love and prayers!

    Like

    • I love your comments Debbie. They are always encouraging and always show your own loving, humble, serving nature. I pray we may both look for and use the golden ’7 minute’ opportunities given to us.
      I know our great God will continue to use you to bless many others. Thank you for being you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

