LOST APPETITE

Lost appetite

As Tommy approached home after spending a fun afternoon at his friend’s house, the rich aroma met him. His mother had cooked roast turkey with all the trimmings and apple pie for dessert.  This was everyone’s favourite meal, and most of all, Tommy’s.  The house was abuzz with happiness as they prepared for a hearty meal.

Tommy sat through the meal hardly eating his most favourite foods. Instead of clearing his plate in short time as usual, he picked at a little of everything.

Why?

Tommy and his friend had been ‘snacking’ most of the afternoon – peanut butter sandwiches, potato crisps, chocolate biscuits, candies, soda pop – how could he eat anything more?

In settling for something he liked, he was unable to partake of the best.

How is it with our spiritual appetites?

Do we tend to feast on things we like,
such as watching TV, playing games, hobbies, pleasing self,
thereby losing the joy of our spiritual food?
Do we give so much attention and time to these things
that we have no (or little) time left for the important things?

Do we settle for less than the BEST?
(close communion with our Lord,
through His Word and prayer and obedience to His will)

Many places in Scripture liken the Christian life to being in a race.
In Hebrews 12:1 we are told to “lay aside every weight”
– to cast off and leave all that is not helpful in running the race.
These could even be ‘good’ things, but if they take the place of ‘the best’
– the spiritual food we need – they are to be forsaken.

Mr Anon says:

# Anything that comes between me and my God – ROBS God.
#  Anything that comes between me and my God – BECOMES my god.
#  He who offers God second place – offers Him NO place.

EVERYTHING is either a WING or a WEIGHT
Lord, reveal to me any ‘weights’ in my life which hinder my walk with You.
Help me to discard them so my life can be filled with YOU.

 

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to LOST APPETITE

  1. pbus1 says:

    Hi Angela,

    Thank you so much for sharing such a timely message with us! While reading, I began to think of any weights that may me in my life, that I need to lay aside, because I don’t want anything to come between my soul and my Savior! I want to experience the fullness of God! I love what you said here: “These could even be ‘good’ things, but if they take the place of ‘the best’
    – the spiritual food we need – they are to be forsaken. Amen! God bless you!

    Paulette

    Like

    • Maybe because I am getting old, but I find I am not tempted as much by ‘bad’ things as I am by ‘good’ things. So often a ‘good’ thing will take me away from a better thing – from the best thing: loving and serving my loving Father in the area He wants me to serve Him. May we be faithful to seek His will at all times and to walk in His way.

      Like

  2. Rob Barkman says:

    Angela,

    My SS teacher used to always tell us that the “old man” and the “new man” inside of us were like two dogs always fighting. The dog that will win out in life is the dog that we feed the most. How true that is! Only when we feed our spiritual nature with the Word of God can we expect to be spirtually victorious in our life.

    Lord Bless You!

    Like

  3. ron says:

    thanks Angela for a timely warning on time management ,i took it to heart ,spoke to me .Yes as you say the problem is still the same ,as you get older its just the subject changes. !
    Blessings
    Ron

    Like

  4. admin says:

    Thank you for sharing, Angela. There is quite the message in your post. It is all in our choices. God wants to give us his best and gently draws us to him. Thank God for his mercy!

    Like

  5. jelillie says:

    “Everything is either a wing or a weight!” That is good Angela! May I rise on the wings God provides and cut the weights from my ankles willingly! Going to ponder this word now!

    Like

    • I heard that quote many, many years ago and the Lord has constantly used it to challenge me. I often hear the words ‘wing or weight’ when my priorities are wrong. I found that even ‘good’ things can be weights when they are at the wrong time or given the wrong place/priority.

      Like

  6. Debbie says:

    “Everything is either a wing or a weight.” Oh, Mentor Angela . . .this will stay with me and give me a great mental picture aid. I want to get closer to Him . . .not be pulled away, snacking on empty calories. God bless you as you keep pressing into Him and sharing what He is giving you!
    love and prayers!

    Like

    • I remember the time when I was doing a very ‘good’ thing (a ministry in the Church, much appreciated by all) – but it wasn’t God’s will for ME at that time. He showed me it was a ‘weight’ and when I obeyed, He lead me into a new ministry in the Church which was a definite ‘wing’ not only for me, but for others.
      Now, I try to see everything with either a wing or a weight attached. I am sometimes very slow the see the weight, but our gracious God is always there, prompting, challenging, encouraging . . .

      What an amazing God!

      Like

  7. Bee says:

    Great message! Thank you for centering my heart on the Lord today.
    Bee well…

    Like

  8. Heather says:

    Lord, reveal to me any ‘weights’ in my life which hinder my walk with You.
    Help me to discard them so my life can be filled with YOU

    Amen!

    It can be so discouraging to look back at my day and see how often I had allowed the weight of worldly concerns to interfere with seeking the Lord’s best. At the time, those things seem vitally important, but when viewed from an eternal perspective, I more clearly see the need for my heart to be always striving to dwell in the attitude of the simple prayer you shared.

    Like

    • Heather, isn’t it wonderful the way the Lord reveals His way to us? He lets us go our own way, following our own desires, and then gently challenges us to draw closer to Him by revealing how different things would be if we had allowed Him to have His way. May we both be more inclined to see the wings and ignore/discard the weights as we continue to love and serve Him.
      What an amazing God!

      Like

  9. Freedomborn says:

    Hi Angela, a very powerful message with much Truth, it is easy to get sidetracked if we don’t keep our focus on the Lord but as we mature in Christ Jesus this happens less and when our flesh nature has been put to death and we have the mind of Christ and so our focus is always on God.

    I have used one of your comments Angela on one of my latest posts I hope that is ok , it’s about lies with Satan being the father of them, please let me know if it’s ok with you.

    Christian Love Anne.

    Like

    • >>> “as we mature in Christ Jesus this happens less and when our flesh nature has been put to death and we have the mind of Christ and so our focus is always on God”

      Yes, Anne, this is His will. We are to reckon ourselves dead. Our old nature is crucified with Christ – but it still lives and it still tries to raise its ugly head and deprive us of the joy of surrender to our new nature. I would like to say ‘our focus is always on God’ but I know that won’t be the case in this life.

      I have found that as I mature, the devil attacks more and more – but in different ways. I am no longer guilty of the sins that plagued me early in my life. Now, the sins of omission – the things I should do but don’t – are the ones that trouble me and I am much more conscious of the “smaller” sins (I know there is no such thing as a small sin, but you know what I mean)

      The Lord first challenged me with the ‘wing’ or ‘weight’ many years ago and He still uses it. I sooooo look forward to the day when we will be with Him in eternity and will worship Him with no distractions.

      What an amazing God!

      PS Use anything you like, Anne. It isn’t mine.

      Like

      • Freedomborn says:

        Hi Angela, yes we all have weaknesses and shortcomings but these are not sin, which is why we are not to judge them critically in others or ourselves. What we can be assured of is when we are Born again of God’s seed we no longer sin ( see below) because we have God’s Nature the old sinful one of Adams has gone, we also have the mind of Christ so we don’t choose to sin.

        When our evil flesh nature has been put to death it can’t resurrect itself, we are set free and no temptation is greater then what we can bear, Jesus is our way out. Perhaps I need to post my conviction about all of this but be assured it is all confirmed in the Scriptures very clearly as you can see below. What I hold on to is we are to reckon ourselves dead to sin and not claim that we do it or will continue to do it, this is a lie when we are in Christ Jesus, just to confuse us so we don’t walk in victory.

        1John3:1-11 (9) No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God.

        Romans 6:22-23 But now being made free from sin, and become servants to God, ye have your fruit unto Holiness, and the end everlasting life. For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.

        John 8:34-36 Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever. So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

        Romans 8 Therefore, brothers, we have an obligation—but it is not to the sinful nature, to live according to it. or if you live according to the sinful nature, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live, because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship And by Him we cry, “Abba, Father.

        Romans 6:11 Likewise reckon ye also yourselves to be dead indeed unto sin, but alive unto God through Jesus Christ our Lord.

        Christian Love Anne.

        Like

Leave a Reply

