REMEMBER WHEN?

My hubby and his visiting friend were remembering the times when they did their school homework by the light of an oil lamp. Both had as one of their responsibilities (yes, in those days kids did chores) of ensuring the lamps were ready for use each day before nightfall.  They both came from farming families, living outside of town where there was no electricity, so they depended on lamps.

To keep them working efficiently, it was essential to keep the wicks trimmed in order to spread the flame evenly and to keep the globes clean to allow a clear and bright light. Then, of course, the lamp also needed fuel – fuel in a clean, dry container.

Jesus used an oil lamp in His parable of the ten virgins [Matthew 25:1-13]
The lamps were different then, and Jesus was using the parable for a specific reason, but it is obvious that if the lamp has no oil there will be NO light.

The more modern oil lamp has more lessons for us.
If we are to emit steady, unobstructed light – the light of Christ within us –
we need to pay attention to “trimming the wicks” and “cleaning the globes” 
That is, we need to remove all impurities which obstruct that Light.

If the oil in the lamp was contaminated by dirt or water,
the light would splutter and go out.
The “oil” in our lamps is the Holy Spirit,
but if we prevent His working by having “self” in our vessel,
the light will be dimmed or even invisible.

Allowing self will, and any unconfessed sin to clog the life
will prevent a clear, pure light shining forth of the love of God to those we meet.
We must have (be) a clean vessel.

The so-called hurricane lamp wasn’t much to look at, but it could be carried outside for various tasks and was even OK in the rain and wind.

Oil lamps came in many shapes and sizes, for different uses; some plain and practical, some plainly attractive, some ornate. Some were more or less left in the one place, while others were designed to be carried by their handle.  Some were evidently designed for ladies.

Did the attractive features of the lamp make them more efficient? 
If the lamp was dirty or wet inside,
would the decorations make any difference?

Of course not!

As Christians, we are all different. We have different ministries.
Some are “out front” while others work just as hard behind the scenes,
while others seem to be constantly on the move.
And we praise God for the ones who are seldom noticed here,
but their earnest prayers are heard in heaven
and keep the front-line workers effective.

Words by Annie Johnson Flint:
His lamp am I, to shine where He shall say.
And as He wills, a flame to find,
Clear, shining through the night –
So bright, they do not see the lamp,
But only see the Light.
So may I shine – His Light the flame –
That men may glorify His name.

#  I do not have to light the whole world, but I AM responsible to light MY PART of the world.
#  Beauty is not in the face; beauty is the Light in the heart.

 

 

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to REMEMBER WHEN?

  1. Stephen says:

    I like the bit about different ministries. I am delighted to find this Mission centre in Sweden (where I am at the moment) has a cars out reach to the youth of the region. The lads can com where & work on their cars, get some free food and so on. In return they get to practice their mechanical skills on the mission cars whenever they need fixing. I’d never have even given it a thought, but the good folk here are reaching the lost all over the world AND on their own doorstep.

    Like

  2. Debbie says:

    Thank you, Mentor Angela, for this great message from Him. Something about “if we prevent His working by having self in our vessels” that is really speaking to me. He has been showing me some self spots. So thankful that He shows us where we need cleaned and even does the cleaning for us, as we confess and submit to Him. :) God bless you as you stay ready and lit for Him!

    Like

    • Hi Debbie. You are not alone when it comes to allowing the big “I” to try to take over the rightful ownership of our lives. Yes, I am crucified with Christ, I reckon myself to be dead to sin and self, but all too often my old nature disagrees and raises its ugly head. How thankful we are that we are not left to our own devices but that the One who is in us is greater than he that is in the world. Praise God that He not only died to save us, but He lives to keep. He fights our battles for us when we submit to Him and we are assured of victory.
      What an amazing God!

      Like

  3. jelillie says:

    You are the second one to remind me today to make sure my lamp is pure so the LIGHT can shine. Don’t know if you have already read it but Ben at Justified Freely is worth giving a glance to.
    ustifiedfreely.wordpress.com/2012/02/02/the-light-of-the-world/

    Like

  4. mtsweat says:

    Great message. “Light our portion… and our beauty is Jesus!” God bless, good friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

