PREPARED? Lose that weight!

Prepared?

The long, gruelling 100km trailwalk through bush, over mountain tracks and creek crossings is about to begin. The participants are lined up, stripped to the bare essentials for what will take a good competitor 24 hours to complete.  All is ready.

Then another competitor approaches the starting line. He is fully dressed, wearing bulky clothes and a padded jacket with bulging pockets and a fur hat. He is carrying a packed bag and an umbrella.

Surely he wouldn’t try this long, arduous walk like that?

He replies:
“Of course I am!  The race is long and treacherous so I am prepared.  There is absolutely NOTHING WRONG with what I have here. Every thing I have is good and beneficial to me.”

Yes, the things may be GOOD.
They would be beneficial in some circumstances.
But are they BENEFICIAL to him in this race?
Will they HELP him in the race?

Hebrews 12: 1
“Let us lay aside every weight”

The Christian life requires us not only to AVOID SIN but also to give up some GOOD THINGS which will keep us from BEING OUR BEST, and from GIVING OUR BEST, and from DOING OUR BEST for the glory of God.

“Lay aside every weight”

What weights are we carrying in our Christian race
– the race which “is set” before us – the race from the cross to glory?
(from conversion to physical death)

We easily recognise some weights – sinful habits, bad temper, impatience, a critical spirit, a gossiping tongue, greed, selfishness, resentment, grudges – the list seems endless, but what about the “good and beneficial” things which can be hindrances?  How many times do we allow “good and beneficial” things to hinder our walk with Christ?

The Christian life is a race that requires discipline and endurance.
We must strip ourselves of everything that would impede us.

Weights are things that may be harmless in themselves and yet hinder progress. They could include material possessions, family ties, the love of comfort, the use of leisure time, devotion to hobbies, sports and other activities. They could also include Christian service if done for the wrong reasons and motives – self promotion, praise of others, etc.

In the Olympic races,
there is no rule against carrying a supply of food and beverage,
but the runner would never win the race that way.
We must guard against the notion that the race is an easy sprint,
that everything in the Christian life is rosy.
We must be prepared to press on with perseverance
through trials and temptations.

#  ANYTHING that comes between me and God – ROBS God.

#  Anything that comes between me and God – BECOMES my god.

#  He who offers God second place, offers Him NO place.

#  Only one life: ‘twill soon be passed. Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Let me burn out for Thee, dear Lord;
Burn and wear out for Thee.
Don’t let me rust or my life be a failure,
Dear God, to Thee.

Take me and all I have, dear Lord,
And get me so close to Thee
That I feel the throb of the great heart of God
Until I burn out for Thee.
author unknown


Everything in my life is either a “wing” or a “weight”.

Lord, please reveal to me any “weights” which are hindering me in my devotion to You and Your service.

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to PREPARED? Lose that weight!

  1. jelillie says:

    Thanks Angela, I have made this my afternoon meditation. What things are a hindrance even if they are not sin. I am making my list. Thank you for the thought! :)

    Like

  2. pbus1 says:

    Thank you, Angela.

    This post leads me into an introspective look, because sometimes I may consider a weight to be a wing! You have lit a fire under me, to seek the Lord in prayer, so that He may reveal those things in my life, that are actually weights, hindrances to me being pleasing in His sight, and giving Him my all! Wonderful message to the body of Christ, and also very timely.

    God bless you!

    Paulette

    Like

    • Hi Paulette
      I do not wish to light a fire under you but if the Lord does so, only good things will come of it. I praise God for your willingness to serve Him wholeheartedly and I know He will continue to use you to His glory.

      Psalm 5:12 For You, O Lord, will bless the righteous; with favour You will surround him as with a shield.

      Like

  3. Ann says:

    Thank you, Angela
    “We easily recognise some weights – sinful habits, bad temper, impatience, a critical spirit, a gossiping tongue, greed, selfishness, resentment, grudges – the list seems endless, but what about the “good and beneficial” things which can be hindrances? ”

    What about them indeed … Can’t say I’ve given much thought to the ‘good intentions’. Thank you for the poke.

    Blessings,
    ann

    Like

    • Hi Ann
      A friend recently found great relief after giving up a position in the Church. She was a good worker and gave it her all but she was never meant to fill that role and it was wearing her down. Once she surrendered her time to the Lord, He placed her in a position where she shines for Him and HE is exalted.

      Like

  4. Rob Barkman says:

    Angela,

    Thank you for allowing the Lord to use you in this ministry. Right now I am going through a “burnout” time in my life…. It is reminders, just as this one, that allows me to continue on with my work. May the Lord bless you… you have been a great blessing to me.

    Like

    • Rob, I have never really understood “burnout” but I know it is real for those going through it. I know one thing: the Lord is with you through it all and in time to come you will look back on this time and praise Him for it. I pray you will know His purpose as He continues to guide you.

      Like

  5. Clark Bunch says:

    I first thought you were actually going to write about losing weight. I see what you did there.

    Like

  6. Debbie says:

    Thank you so much, Angela, for bringing us this important message, I am praying and asking Him now, what are my weights and what are my wings. I appreciate how you showed us that what we might not consider to be a weight, can very well be.
    God is so good and faithful to give us just what we need to run the race.
    God bless you as you run for Him and His glory!
    love and prayers!

    Like

    • Debbie I have many times found that what I considered to be a ‘wing’ was in reality a ‘weight’ and when God was allowed to have His way, that ‘weight’ was replaced with a very real and effective ‘wing’.
      The fact is that God always knows best, and since we know that He always desires the very best for us, we cannot be the loser when we follow His will. I would do well to always remember that myself!

      Like

Leave a comment