ARE YOU IN THE RIGHT PLACE?

Are you in the right place?

He who aims at excellence will always be above mediocrity.
He who aims at mediocrity will always be far short of it.


TED ENGSTROM in his book The Pursuit of Excellence  records he was cleaning out a drawer when he found a torch he hadn’t used in over a year.  He flipped the switch but wasn’t surprised when it didn’t work.

He unscrewed the top to remove the batteries, but they wouldn’t budge. Finally he succeeded. What a mess! Battery acid had corroded the entire inside of the torch. The batteries were new when he put them in the torch.

He had stored them in a safe warm place.  But there was one problem. Those batteries were not meant to be warm and comfortable. They were designed to be turned on and used!

IT IS JUST THE SAME WITH US!

We were not created (re-created) to be warm, safe and comfortable!

The bar is set too low!

We were made to be put to work.
We were saved to serve.
We were made to put our love to work;
to apply our patience in difficult, trying situations.
We were not meant to “do our bit” but to GIVE OUR ALL.
We were not meant to stay in our comfort zone but to be challenged.

 John 15:16
You have not chosen Me but I have chosen you
and ORDAINED YOU
that you should GO and BRING FORTH FRUIT

1 Corinthians 15:58
. . . be STEADFAST, UNMOVING,
ALWAYS ABOUNDING in the work of the Lord

 The Lord is King! I own His power,
His right to rule each day and hour!
I own His claim on heart and will,
And His demands I will fulfil!

>>  If there is no fruit in my life, there is no reason for my existence

>>  It costs more to say “no” to God than it does to say “Yes, Lord

>>  Salvation is free but discipleship costs everything we are

>>  Privilege and responsibility are two sides of the same coin

>>  The secret of an unsuccessful life is an unsurrendered will

>>  Doing the will of God leaves me no time for disputing His plans for me

>>  If we set the bar low enough, everyone becomes exceptional

 

>>  Only the mediocre are always at their best

>>  Life begins at the end of your comfort zone

Eliminate mediocrity

Step out of your comfort zone


 

 

 

 

 

>>  He who aims at excellence will always be above mediocrity:
        He who aims at mediocrity will always be far short of it.

 

 

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to ARE YOU IN THE RIGHT PLACE?

  1. Rob Barkman says:

    Angela,

    I think many times, we are content to measure our lives using other humans as our “standard of perfection” .
    We can always find someone who is accomplishing less than us in life. Whne we do this we can find ourselves feeling good about our underachievements.

    If we all compared ourselves to Christ, we would see our failures and see our need to strive to do more.

    May we never be content with mediocrity.

    Like

    • Hi Rob.
      So true. It is so easy to convince ourselves we are doing well, even though we know we fail the true standard. Thankfully, our great God knows our thoughts and intents and reveals our errors and forgives and cleanses us when we agree with Him. Then He helps us to measure up to the right standard.

      What an amazing God!
      What a Saviour!

      Like

  2. Heather says:

    Very convicting thoughts, Angela. Some of them cause me to squirm just a bit.
    On the other hand, my sister and I were having a similar discussion a few weeks ago and, we both agreed that our own spiritual growth depends upon being stretched and pruned. Often, I get stuck on the notion that “stepping out of my comfort zone” necessitates a trip around the world or some other drastic change. I know it CAN involve such things, but even learning to deny my own fleshly lusts, cheerfully serve my own husband and children extend true, heartfelt hospitality to my neighbors can be a challenge!

    Like

    • Hi Heather. It is so true that we cannot develop as we are meant unless we are stretched. Without stretching we are stuck in a rut, becoming apathetic and useless. Stretching and pruning are VITAL to growth. While we might not WELCOME the experiences we are THANKFUL for them because we know they are for our good and after they are passed we can look back and SEE the benefit.

      Like

  3. snowgood says:

    Funny that my one aim at Grammar School was to be just above average, but in our own business I strive to make sure we offer the best customer service. Maybe getting saved made the vital difference. I can’t imagine God would ever have offered mankind a second rate Saviour.

    Like

    • Becoming a child of the living God makes ALL the difference.
      No, God would never offer a second rate anything – not even a first rate. Everything about God is so far above anything man can think. He and all about Him and everything He does and gives is supreme.
      What a Saviour!

      Like

  4. pbus1 says:

    Sorry Angela. The anonymous post was from me. I didn’t realize I was signed out of my account.

    Like

  5. Anonymous says:

    Thank you, Angela. Great information! Take care.

    Like

  6. Ann says:

    Thank you, Angela
    These are very thought provoking quotes. Each one offers something that can positively affect my life but I think this one spoke to me…” Life begins at the end of your comfort zone”
    I’m going to build a nest on this one and hang out here a while… Who doesn’t like being comfortable? ;-)
    Blessings,
    ann

    Like

    • Maybe the quote would be truer if it was “Life begins when you step OUTSIDE your comfort zone” While it may not be as comfortable for a while, it certainly is better. We serve an amazing God who wants the very best for us. His will is ALWAYS the best, but too often I try my own way first.

      Like

Leave a Reply

