AM I RESPONSIBLE?

A question or two

What would be
your response
if you saw
a BLIND MAN unknowingly approach the edge of a high precipice?

Wouldn’t your natural reaction be to scream and yell and do all in your power to stop him?

Even to rush to push him away from the edge?

Surely
we would exert          our utmost to prevent his certain death!


QUESTION:  If you stood and watched, without any effort to save him, would you not be at least partly guilty of his death?

To the non-Christian . . . There are many in our community to whom we turn a blind eye: people who are desperate for a helping hand.  We can’t help everyone, but are we doing what we can?

To the Christian . . .
When we see people moving blindly towards a CHRISTLESS ETERNITY
and we make no effort to turn them from their way
ARE WE RESPONSIBLE FOR THEIR ETERNAL DESTINY?

No, we are not responsible for their destiny, for this is the destiny of EVERY human being and it is only through the gift of God in giving His Son to redeem us that we can be saved.

However,
WE ARE RESPONSIBLE TO WARN THEM:
to tell them of their rebellion against God
and of the love of God
and the saving sacrifice of Christ on their behalf:
to show them HOW they can be reconciled to God through Christ.

Railway tracks

Dr John McNeil told a group of ministers how he had come across a drunken man fast asleep between the railway tracks when the midnight express was due any minute.  He asked the ministers what they would have done.

Would you have tried to wake him from his drunken stupor?
Would you gently invite him to move?
Would you try to move him very gently so as not to hurt him?

All agreed the ONLY action would be to grab him and drag him off the line as quickly as possible, with NO thought of his comfort or his feelings.

Dr McNeil then commanded:
“Then GO OUT AND DO IT,
for that is the EXACT STATE of EVERY UNSAVED PERSON . . .
asleep between the tracks,
with God’s judgement express due any minute!

O give me, Lord, THY love for souls:
For lost and wandering sheep,
That I may see the multitudes
And WEEP – as Thou didst weep.

Help me to see the TRAGIC PLIGHT
Of souls far off in sin.
Help me to love, to pray, to GO
And bring the wandering in.

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to AM I RESPONSIBLE?

  1. pbus1 says:

    Hi Angela,

    This is a wonderful post on discipleship! It gives much food for thought, and gives cause for pause, to reflect on whether or not we are doing the Lord’s bidding, as we should. Thank you for sharing!

    Paulette

    Like

    • Thanks Paulette.
      I was going to include the verses in Ezekiel 3:18-21 “If you do not warn the wicked . . . his blood will I require at thy hand” but left them out on re-think. I first heard these words from Dr Oswald Smith when he visited here in the early 1960s and was greatly challenged by them. They still challenge but I align more now with 2 Corinthians 5:19-20.

      Angela

      Like

  2. snowgood says:

    You may have missed the suicide attempt in China a few days ago. Police and the fire brigade come to the rescue, only for a member of the public to get access & talk to the guy.
    Moments later he takes the chaps arm & throws him off the bridge! The chap survived, but it was incredible. Almost beyond belief.

    Like

Leave a Reply

