CANNOT STAND ALONE!

A sequoia tree cannot stand alone

SEQUOIA TREES – an awesome sight.  Their majestic beauty and grandeur suggest an indifference to the world around them, yet that is far from the truth. While the whistling of the wind, the blazing heat and the bitter cold do not seem to have any visible effects on them, one thing is certain: THEY CANNOT STAND ALONE!

Before we see why they cannot stand alone, let’s first consider some amazing statistics of these magnificent trees)

GIANT SEQUOIAS are the LARGEST LIVING THINGS ON EARTH in terms of total volume. (The Coastal Redwoods of California are taller than the Giant Sequoias but the sequoias have much larger trunks and branches and therefore a larger volume)   Sequoias are also the fastest growing trees in the world.

Average height:           50-85 metres / 160-279 feet
[record height]            94.8 metres / 311 feet
Average circumference:     102.6 ft / 31.3 m
Average diameter:                6-8 metres / 20-26 feet
[record diameter]       17 metres / 56 feet diameter
Average bark at base:          90 cm / 3 feet thick
Estimated average mass:    2,105 short tons / 1,910 t
Oldest tree (by ring count)      3500 years

Sequoias reproduce from seeds in their cones.  At any given time, a large tree may be expected to have approximately 11,000 cones. A mature giant sequoia has been estimated to disperse from 300,000 – 400,000 seeds per year. The winged seeds may be carried up to 180 m (600 ft) from the parent tree.

sequoia

Why can’t giant sequoias stand alone?

When we see giant trees battered by storms and fierce winds,
we tend to assume that their strong, deep, deep roots hold them secure
but the giant sequoias do NOT have enormous tap roots
that would sustain their 2000+ tonnes of weight.
Strong winds would blow them over.
Sequoias do have a large tap root, but more importantly,
they have countless outward growing roots
which intertwine with all their neighbouring sequoias,
forming a solid mat of foundation and security
and they support one another,
holding one another secure in the fiercest of storms.

 
As Christians, we have our roots firmly planted in the Word of God and the promises of God.  We are “in Christ” and the very life which flows through Him (the Vine) also flows through us (the branches).  Because God has planted together as part of His body, we also have the support of our brothers and sisters.

Jesus sought support from His disciples in the Garden of Gethsemane. If Jesus desired human support in His suffering, how much more do WE need one another?

Let us always be willing to ask our brethren to pray for us
and let us always be alert for opportunities
to lend our support to others who are suffering.
As we intertwine and hold one another up,
we will remain secure in the fiercest storms.

Mr Anon says:
#   Even though we cannot PREVENT another’s sorrow, CARING will LESSEN it.
#   Christian fellowship doubles our joys and divides our griefs.

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to CANNOT STAND ALONE!

  1. Barbee says:

    This is such a wonderful post, I am so glad I stopped by.
    I love your analogy of the interconnected roots, “…as we intertwine and hold one another up…”
    So beautiful…and touching.
    Thank you and God bless…

    Like

    • Just as we read in 1 Corinthians 12 and other places, we are all part of the one body and as such each one is important to the others. We encourage and help one another. I am sooooo thankful for the times when my brothers and sisters have helped me to stand.
      Thank you Bee.

      Like

  2. pbus1 says:

    Hi Angela,

    I enjoyed the lesson! What an awesome analogy! “For other foundation can no man lay than that is laid which is Jesus Christ.” I thank God, that my foundation is the solid rock, Jesus Christ! “From whom the whole body fitly joined together and compacted by that which every joint supplieth, according to the effectual working in the measure of every part, maketh increase of the body unto the edifying of itself in love.” Thank God, we are fitly joined together, or intertwined, that we may lean on one another for support, be it prayer, an encouraging word, or simply to fellowship and celebrate Jesus!

    “We are in Christ and the very life which flows through Him (the Vine) also flows through us (the branches).” I posted a blog on this topic, today, quite a while before I came to your page. :-)

    God bless you, and continue to allow Him to use you, for His glory.

    Paulette

    Like

    • Hi Paulette
      It is no surprise that we often think alike, because we have the same heavenly Father and the same Spirit who guides us.
      I thought of the same verses as you quote here while I was preparing the blog.
      The Vine and the branches is a favourite of mine. I’m off to have a look.
      Angela

      Like

      • pbus1 says:

        Angela,

        I also had to revise my comment on your page. I had the exact line from the song that you quoted, in my comment, “On Christ the solid rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand.” While writing my comment I scrolled up, and there it was in one of your comments. :-)

        Like

  3. Gloria says:

    What a great illustration of the importance of not being a lone ranger christian. My husband has often told people that even if they don’t think they ‘need’ church that they still should come as there are certainly people there that ‘need’ their support. We are in this together. Great post!

    Like

  4. Todd Beal says:

    That’s great information, Angela, and a prime example of the Church supporting each other, unified as one body in Jesus Christ our head. I don’t know where you get this stuff, but good job.

    Like

    • >> “I don’t know where you get this stuff”
      Todd I was Church secretary for 16 years and wrote the weekly Church bulletin which included 2 pages of ministry. Many of my blogs are based on illustrations I used in the bulletins, but expanded.

      I praise God for the number of fellow believers who have “intertwined” with me over the years and I praise my God for the sure foundation on which He placed me almost 53 years ago – a foundation which has never given even the slightest tremble.

      Like

  5. Ann says:

    Thank you, Angela.

    God has placed some interesting people in my life to help me stand. I am sure I would have toppled flat on my face had I attempted to walk alone. Our amazing God knows all our needs. So thankful He has made provisions for them too! :-)

    Thank you for this wonderful piece. May your roots always be secure in Him and may your life always be connected with those who will help you grow in Him.

    Blessings always.
    ann

    Like

    • Hi Ann
      There are numerous people I thank for “intertwining” with me and helping me to stand – especially in my early Christian life where I had to “unlearn” so much. Most of all though, I thank my heavenly Father for the rock-solid foundation He has provided and the faith He gives me to believe on His Word and act on it. In almost 53 years of knowing Him, that foundation has not had the slightest little tremble. (I have, but NOT the foundation)

      What a wonderful Saviour!
      Angela

      Like

  6. Rob Barkman says:

    Angela,

    What woudl we do without the Lord as our sure foundation? Over and over again, I ask myself “How do those without Christ make it in the world in which we live?”.

    Your facts about Sequoia trees is a reminder of the greatness of our Creator and the greatness of this foundation He has so graciously supplied to us… Himself and His Word!

    May we all rely on Him and His Word for our foundation in life. He is the only foundation that will stand firm in troublesome times.

    Thank you for a very encouraging post.

    Rob

    Like

    • I would have crashed countless times if it wasn’t for the solid foundation. “On Christ the solid Rock I stand. All other ground is sinking sand”

      Truly we serve an amazing God! Not only has He provided our salvation but also everything we need to live a victorious life in His power and keeping.

      What a Saviour!

      Like

  7. snowgood says:

    Certainly agree on this one. I have stood at the foot of Giant Redwoods on Vancover Island, stood in awe that is.
    As an intertwined family I too have had bear “the load”. Last week i was with a weeping friend who has just lost his 23 year old daughter in a needless road accident – all the other walked away virtually unhurt.
    Somehow I think grief brings power, we’re all in life together. we need that mat of faith to share our joys and sorrows, to make us complete!
    Even Jesus was a man of sorrows and acquainted with grief, so different to concept of just “having wall to wall FUN”.
    Have a great Sunday….

    Like

    • It is almost impossible to explain why some things happen. I think of a friend whose young daughter was killed in a car crash on the way home for her wedding the following week. She is still grieving more than a decade later.
      She would agree that the intertwining with brothers and sisters in the Lord gave her – and still gives her – comfort and helps her to stand tall, trusting in her loving Father.

      Like

Leave a Reply

