A lesson from a little girl

soda pop

She was a good wife and mother.

She came to the conclusion that carbonated drinks were having negative effects on her family.

She decided  they should all stop drinking them.

Her young daughter loved them so much.  How would she ever convince her that it was necessary to stop drinking them?

The mother was determined and told her husband of the decision.
The little girl heard and asked, “Mommy, don’t we like pop any more?”
Mommy said “That’s right”
Her daughter replied “O.K.” . . .  and that was all it took.

Oh for such a readiness to give up something
when we learn that GOD does not want us to do it!

Mr Anon says:
Doing the will of God leaves me no time for disputing His plans.
True obedience neither procrastinates nor questions.
Partial obedience is a mark of insincerity

The Lord is King! I own His power,
His right to rule each day and hour.
I own His claim on heart and will
And His demands I would fulfill.

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A lesson from a little girl

  1. pbus1 says:

    Hi Angela,

    Sometimes it takes a huge leap of faith, to pray according to God’s will, while for others, it is just as easy as what was stated in your article. I hope that in every aspect of my life, I will be able to surrender as easily as the little girl did. After all, God is sovereign, He’s omniscient, and He knew me before I was formed in my mother’s womb! So, in no wise should I ever think, that my ideas about anything, would even come close to being better than His ideas, for my life.

    You reminded me of Jeremiah and Aaron, when you said you always think you’re not good enough. If God called you, He equipped you for the job. I know, you know that already, as I am positive that He has proven it to you over and over and again! After all, it isn’t you, but it is Jesus Christ, working through you!

    Like

    • Words of wisdom as always. Thanks Paulette.

      Yes, God ALWAYS desires the very, very best for us, so we should never be reluctant to do whatever He calls us to do. God’s commands are His enablings, whether we are talking about ministry or obedience to His will, so we have no REASON to hesitate or to question. The problem is when we allow the big “I” to think for us.

      Like

  2. snowgood says:

    Ever prayed a prayer and nor got the right answer? Sometimes we know what’s right, but still argue with God – least I do.

    Like

    • Don’t we all?
      My biggest problem is saying “I can’t do that!” when He calls me to do something – when time and time again He has proven that while I can’t, He can, through me.
      Sometimes I wonder why He perseveres with me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

