This Blood is for YOU!

 

This Blood is for You

As we approach Easter, the time we set aside to remember in a special way the death, burial and glorious resurrection of Christ, I thought some might like to consider the words of a song by CARMAN.

THIS BLOOD IS FOR YOU

Violently they grabbed His arms, as they tightly strapped each wrist.
With a hellish look stood a strong armed soldier. Whip clenched in his fist,
Laced with chips of bone they beat Him hard from His shoulders to His feet,
And it sliced right through His olive skin: just like razors through a sheet,

Countless times the blood splattered as each inhuman lash was given;
Several times His knees gave way, and His flesh just hung in ribbons.
Then surprisingly He turned His head (the words He said were few)
The soldier’s face turned pale when He said “This blood is for you”

Uncaringly they tossed a garment across His weakened form;
And His blood pressure fell deathly low as the crowds began to swarm.
They forced Him to carry His cross up-hill; His face they punched and smacked.
And the splinters from the criss-cross beams dug deep into His back.

Through lack of sleep and dehydration, His tongue began to swell,
And weakened by His loss of blood, the prophet-teacher fell.
When He did, some blood splattered on the man named Simon’s shoe,
And as he bent to wipe it off, the prophet looked and said:
“Simon this blood is for you”

This blood can save the soul,
Heal the sick, mend the heart;
This blood can give you access,
To the very throne of God.
And it still can go the distance,
From the pain to where you are –
This blood is for you,
The atoning, cleansing blood of the Lamb –
This blood is for you

They pounded a spike through the bones of His hands,
bursting His arteries and veins.
And as they dropped the cross in the hole they dug,
His body convulsed in pain.
In an agony and a torment that never a soul shall find –
What does He do? –
He tilts His face towards heaven, in full control of His mind,
And with more love than any human heard (before that time or since)
He made a statement that to this day makes the strongest skeptic wince.
He cried “Father, forgive them for they know not what they do.”
And as He gave His life for those lost in sin, He was saying
“This blood is for you!”

This blood can save the soul,
Heal the sick, mend the heart.
This blood can give you access,
To the very throne of God.
And it still can go the distance,
From the pain to where you are,
This blood is for you.
(If you’re lost and alone, and your mind is confused)
This blood is for you.
(If you feel like you have been hurt and abused)
This blood is for you.
The Atoning cleansing blood of the Lamb –
This blood is for YOU!

 

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to This Blood is for YOU!

  1. Pingback: From meetingintheclouds’ blog « Lost Treasure In The Addict

  2. hazeleyes77 says:

    Wow! This truly touched my heart. Do you mind if I share it on my blog?

    Like

  3. Jackie Paulson 1966 says:

    I loved this, and watch the movie with Mel Gibson. Did you know when he played that part He got hit by lightening or was is the other actor? Great post on Christ.

    Like

  4. pbus1 says:

    Hi Angela,

    The lyrics of the song painted a vivid image, that literally stirs the soul! What can wash away my sins? NOTHING but the blood of Jesus! What can make me whole again? NOTHING but the blood of Jesus! O precious is the flow, that makes me white as snow! No other fount I know, NOTHING but the blood of Jesus! Oh how I love Him! Mere words cannot express, the gratefulness that I feel in my heart, for all of the vicarious suffering, that Jesus endured, to save a wretch like me!!! I often think of the word grace, as an acronym: 1. God’s 2. Riches 3. At 4. Christ’s 5. Expense!

    Thank you so much for sharing the lyrics to that song! God bless!

    Paulette

    Like

    • Carman’s songs have very striking and challenging lyrics. I must say I appreciate the lyrics more than the music.

      I have also used that acronym often.

      I also like the phrase:
      God’s GRACE is His giving me what I do NOT deserve:
      God’s MERCY is His NOT giving me what I DO deserve.

      Like

  5. heather joy says:

    AWEsome post, my friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

