HOW WHITE IS WHITE? – How right is right?

 

White? Right?

A pastor had a small white Highland Terrier which he kept spotlessly clean by frequent washing, brushing and powdering.

One night, a winter storm dropped a fresh blanket of snow on the countryside, and the next morning the whole world seemed to glisten under the splendour of the morning sun.

As the pastor stood gazing out of his window, admiring the purity of the scene, he saw a drab, dirty looking dog walk across the snow. He wondered whose dog it was, and as it drew nearer he realised it was his own well-groomed terrier. It was as clean as always, but against the dazzling background of new snow, it appeared dirty.


In much the same way,
our corrupt nature is clearly revealed
when our lives are measured
by the absolute standard of Divine holiness.

We might make a favourable impression when we compare ourselves with other people. Too many people say, “Yes, I know I’m a sinner, but we all are, and I’m no worse than anyone else. In fact, I’m better than most”

That person is like the 7 year old boy who declared he was over six feet tall . . .
(but he was using a six inch ruler and counting it as a 12 inch ruler)
He was using the wrong standard!

Not one of us
can stand against the pure whiteness of the character of Christ.

We ALL fall short of His glory because we are ALL sinners.

While it might be true that a person is “better than most”
according to our standards of society,
the fact remains that the person IS a sinner, and sin separates from God.
God makes no difference between what WE might term
as minor sins and major sins, or big sins and little sins.
With God, sin is sin and NO sin will enter His holy presence.

For those who haven’t experienced His love, acceptance and forgiveness,
He invites you to come

We who know, love and serve our heavenly Father through the Lord Jesus Christ KNOW the experience of having our sins forgiven
and being clothed with the righteousness of Christ.

We praise our Redeemer for the great exchange: our sin for His righteousness.

2 Corinthians 5:21
For God made Jesus to BE SIN FOR US,
that we might be made
the RIGHTEOUSNESS OF GOD in Him.


What an exchange!

What a Saviour!

 

 

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to HOW WHITE IS WHITE? – How right is right?

  1. pbus1 says:

    Hi Angela,

    What an exchange! The fact that Jesus, who knew no sin, became sin for us, that we might be made the righteousness of God in Him, is absolutely awesome! I thank God for the blood that covers my sins, because I would not be able to be in His presence, because of my sinfulness! I praise God, because His blood washes whiter than snow! No other fount I know, nothing but the blood of Jesus! Glory to God!

    (I missed blogosphere! I suffered a terrible flare up, so please keep me in your prayers. God bless you!)

    Paulette

    Like

    • I haven’t been here much lately because of two massive projects, but when I “popped in” a couple of times I missed you. I thought you might be having health problems, so have been praying. Be assured I will continue to uphold you.

      I thought you might like these verses (you probably already know them)

      I AM CARRIED

      Day by day and hour by hour
      Your love for me from heaven flows.
      Like streams of water in the desert,
      Living waters flow.
      You walk beside me, gently guiding,
      Leading me through every storm.
      Everlasting, never changing,
      Grace and love divine.

      I am carried in the arms
      Of grace and love divine.
      I am held by hands of healing,
      Washed by waters pure.
      Lifting up my heavy heart,
      Held in grace-scarred hands.
      I am carried in the arms
      Of grace and love divine.

      Mercy healing, grace relieving
      Every spot and stain.
      Forgiven freely, no more guilty,
      Love has conquered shame.
      The broken mended, night has ended,
      The lost and lonely lost no more,
      For I am carried in the arms
      Of grace and love divine.

      Never worthy, never earning,
      All my works now left behind.
      Ever onwards, ever upwards,
      You’ve called me on to rise
      Above my darkness, all my failure,
      Every fear and every pain.
      Always carried, always covered,
      By grace and love divine.

      I do not know who wrote the song or the music. I should look it up.

      Like

  2. snowgood says:

    Amazing, we’re both reading the same chapter without realising it, and not the first time either.
    If I could only have one chapter of the Bible, this would be a great one.

    Like

    • >>> “If I could only have one chapter of the Bible”

      That thought is almost enough to ruin my day! Perish the thought!
      On the other hand, it COULD happen.
      Even in our countries we see Christianity becoming the “put down”. THAT thought should inspire us to MORE memorising of the Scriptures – to memorising whole chapters and whole books!

      (Please, if I am limited, can I have a whole book and not just a chapter? ROMANS! and if you limit me it would have to be Romans 8.)

      Like

  3. Rob Barkman says:

    Angela,

    Your post brings to mind… Job 40:4 “Behold, I am vile; what shall I answer thee? I will lay mine hand upon my mouth.”

    Before I was saved, I excused my sinful acts by blaming anything, or anyone, besides myself. I was able to excuse my sins to others (and even to myself).

    But, as one who was unsaved, if I had stood before the Lord in all His holiness, I wouldn’t have been able to speak a word. It would have been just as you say… then my sin would have been black as black can be… there would be no cleaning them up or making them look good. His holiness would have silenced me.

    I thank my Lord that He saved me from those black, horrible sins and continues to forgive me when I fail Him. His shed blood has covered all my sins, when I stand before Him in eternity I’ll be able to speak eternal praises to Him for all He has done for me!

    Thank you for reminding me all that He has done for me.

    Rob

    Like

    • Hi Rob.
      It is good to look back on our pre-conversion days sometimes, and see the DIFFERENCE Christ has made in our lives. There couldn’t be much more difference between then and now. The change He made is awesome . . . a change that has lasted nearly 53 years and keeps on getting better.

      I too look forward to the day when we can praise Him with our WHOLE hearts.
      Angela

      Like

Leave a Reply

