DEAD – BUT STILL ALIVE

Dead but alive

The Vietnam Veteran’s Memorial is striking in its simplicity. Etched in its black granite walls are the names of 58,156 Americans who died in that war. Since its opening in 1982 that stark monument has stirred deep emotions.

Many visitors walk its length slowly and reverently. Some stop before certain names, remembering their son, their sweetheart, their husband or father or brother or relative or friend, wiping away tears and often tracing their names with their fingers.

For three Vietnam veterans,
ROBERT BEDKER, WILLIAM CRAIG and DARRELL LAUSCH,
a visit to the memorial must be especially poignant.

 

Vietnam memorial wall

Memorial wall

They can walk along the long ebony wall and find their own names carved in the stone.  Because of data coding errors, each of them was incorrectly listed as killed in action.

DEAD BUT ALIVE!


Isn’t that (shouldn’t it be) an adequate description of the Christian?
Jesus said that if anyone wanted to be His follower, he must take up his cross. [Mark 8:34. Matt 10:38-39, 16:24-26, Luke 9:23-25]

As anyone who heard Him understood,  the only person who carried a cross was on his way to death – as good as dead – listed as dead –  for there was no way out.  Jesus was clearly saying that to be His disciple, we need to count ourselves – our own desires, our own will, as DEAD.

Paul continued the thought in Romans, saying our old nature is crucified with Christ, that we are dead to sin but alive unto God.

We are dead. We are crucified with Christ.

We are dead to sin; dead to self:

but . . . we are alive in Christ.

We are risen with Christ, alive in Him,
living in the power of His resurrection.

Galatians 2:20
I have been crucified with Christ.
It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me;
and the life which I now live in the flesh
I live by faith in the Son of God
who loved me and gave Himself for me.

Salvation is free
but discipleship costs everything we are and everything we have

Is that a high cost? Definitely NO!

God is no man’s debtor.

God gives so much MORE to the person
who leaves all choices with Him.

 

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to DEAD – BUT STILL ALIVE

  1. Darrel Lausch says:

    My name is also Darrel Lausch. But with only 1 “L” on the end of my first name, although it was spelled with 2 until I got my drivers license 22 years ago. My mother had told me that it was spelled with 2 “L”s up until I checked my bith certificate. I have also been working to try to build my relationship with God. This has been a learning experience. One that I am enjoying. I never realized it would take such a long time. Maybe longtime isnt the right way to say it, but it has been like learning about God and trying to follow his will and getting slightly better at it but it is never finished. I don’t mind not finishing it to much, but its not like we as people would expect it to be. No flash of light, no voices from the thin air, no magic powers etc. Just a lot of patience and reflection. I appoligize for not knowing more about your site before writing on your wall but the situation is a little intriguing to say the least. I never know when I am being led down another path and I certainly don’t want to miss the opportunity to explore any avenue that may provide me with some guidance and wisdom. I am 38 and live in Texas. Born Sept 18 1972

    Like

  2. Pat says:

    “Awesome”!
    Love ya :D :D

    Like

  3. pbus1 says:

    Hi Angela,

    This post is a perfect example, of a Christian’s existence! However, so many want to be saved, but they don’t want to take up their crosses and follow the Lord! They don’t want to reckon themselves as dead to sinful desires, and to the things of this world! Although the word says that we are in this world, but not of this world, some find it difficult, and often struggle with living according to the word of God!

    We must count up the cost of discipleship, and when we have done so, there is a choice to be made! Do we choose to mortify our members, which are upon the earth, which means not yielding our bodies to sin, or do we appease the flesh? As for me and my house, my temple, my body, we shall serve the Lord! I choose to be dead to sin, but alive in Christ! When we have made our choice to follow Jesus, and we stand firmly on that choice, Jesus will lead us and guide us, into all truth and righteousness. He will keep us, because we desire to be kept! [God gives so much More to the person who leaves all choices to Him] I concur!

    God bless you!

    Paulette

    Like

    • You put it so well Paulette.

      Really, when we pander to self and our selfish desires, we LOSE.
      When we give up our rights and allow the Lord His way, we GAIN – and HOW we gain!

      No one who has known the enormous benefits of discipleship would ever, for any reason, turn back.

      Thank you Paulette
      Angela

      Like

  4. snowgood says:

    Let’s trust there’ll be a quick end to the troubles in Libya, Lord knows we need fewer memorials to soldiers fighting battles that need never have happened.

    Like

    • Libya, Egypt, Afghanistan – and many other places.

      Then we have “natural disasters” like our floods, cyclones and bush fires and now the Christchurch earthquake – and repeat that in many other countries.

      Is there a warning in all this? We have had a number of non-Christian people ask if the Lord is sending judgement on our land. I wouldn’t make that assumption but I have warned that each individual has to answer the question of what they do with Christ.

      Out of all the chaos of the past months I trust that man’s extremity will be God’s opportunity.

      Like

      • snowgood says:

        Interestingly enough our Christian friend down the road has been asked by her Jewish friends what the Bible might have to say about the events now happening! Apparently most of them have seldom looked in the Tanakh since their Bar Mitvah. The Spirit is moving…

        Like

  5. Rob Barkman says:

    Angela,

    There is no comparison between the sacrifice we are asked to give for the Lord and the sacrifice He gave for us on the cross. Our life is one of a fallen sinful being. His sacrifice was of a perfectly holy God.

    Paul uses the phrase “reasonable service” to describe us being “living sacrifices” for Him. In other words, when we consider all He has done for us, it is only to be expected we give our entire lives to Him. He secured our eternal salvation for us… should we not give our temporal life to Him?

    Thanks for the reminder of my need to serve Him more,
    Rob

    Like

    • Hi Rob.

      I totally agree that there is no comparison between our sacrifice and His.

      In fact, I sometimes wonder why Romans 12:1 uses the word “sacrifice” because while it involves a surrender of the will and therefore a living sacrifice, the rewards are such that it contradicts the idea.

      Is there a better place to be than in the perfect will of God? I do not believe so.

      Discipleship IS costly, but the rewards of discipleship far, far, far outweigh any cost. (The problem is that self sometimes gets in the way and we tend to ignore the rewards, thinking only of immediate pleasure) I need to keep my eyes firmly focussed on Him.

      Angela

      Like

  6. However sometimes is very hard to take up our cross and follow Christ.

    Like

    • While I agree that it is difficult to deny our own desires and our own will, KNOWING Christ makes a difference.

      I ran my own life for the first 22 years, pleasing myself without a single thought of God – or of anyone else for that matter. For the last 52 years of my life, I have known, loved and served my heavenly Father, the Creator God, through the Lord Jesus Christ.

      In that time I have experienced His continual presence, His undertaking for me in all areas of my life, His enabling and strength, His encouragement and challenge, His teaching and counselling . . . in short, He has been my Everything.

      My experience with Him has taught me that He only wants the very best for me and that HIS WAY is ALWAYS the BEST WAY. Consequently, although I might WANT to go my own way at times, it is actually EASIER for me to go His way, because I know it is best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

