CONTRADICTION – truth in opposites

 

contradictions

She was an accomplished pianist who had played for major concerts and received great honours.  She had a very bright future ahead of her in the world of classical music.

She had a problem and discussed it with her pastor. She really wanted to surrender her whole life to Christ, but she was afraid that He would ask her to give up her music.

After discussing the situation, the pastor opened the Scriptures to Acts 10:14 where Peter had said “Not so, Lord” and he explained the contradiction of terms in those words.

If Christ was Peter’s Lord, he had no right to say “Not so”

If Peter had a right to say “Not so” then he could not say “Lord”

The pastor wrote the three words on a piece of paper – “Not so, Lord” and told the young lady to make a choice.  Either she had to cross out “Not so” or she must cross out “Lord”.

The young lady, after much anguish, crossed out the “Not so” and the pastor records that the Lord greatly used her and her music in His service for many years.

How often do WE try to say, “Not so, Lord”?

How often do we make our own decisions
and go our own way, without regard to His will?

Can we truly say “Lord”?

We can, when we know from experience that He only wants the very best for us and that HIS choice is ALWAYS the best.

We can never outgive God, because He is no man’s debtor and He always uses a bigger shovel.

A few lines from the hymn of contradictions by George Matheson

Make me a CAPTIVE Lord,
And then I shall be FREE.
Force me to render up my sword
And I shall conqueror be.

My will is not my own
Till Thou hast made it Thine.

John 8:36  If the Son makes you free, you shall be FREE INDEED.

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to CONTRADICTION – truth in opposites

  1. pbus1 says:

    When we purpose in our hearts, to follow wherever the Lord leads, He will provide opportunities for us to stir up the gifts that He has placed within us, while giving Him glory and honor with our gifts.

    God bless.

    Paulette

    Like

  2. Rob Barkman says:

    Angela,

    When I read your posting it reminded me of Gen 19:18 (KJV) “And Lot said unto them, Oh, not so, my Lord:” In this case Lot, due to a lack of faith, was refusing to follow the Lord’s directions in leading him away from Sodom.

    Just as you rightfully pointed out, in both examples Peter and Lot were contradicting themselves by refusing to submit to the One they were addressing as Lord.

    My prayer is that the Lord might help me to be always submissive and compliant to His will and ways for my life.

    Thank you for your faithfulness in writing this blog. May the Lord bless you.
    Rob

    Like

  3. snowgood says:

    Aha, but who was the pianist? I always remember that when Cliff richard became a Christian he pondered giving up working in popular music, but instead he was able to become an even more succesful artist and perhaps one of the nation’s most famous followers of Christ.

    Like

    • This was a young lady and a classical pianist, no pop. The pastor who wrote the account did not mention her name.

      I was challenged by the “Not so, Lord”
      While I haven’t used those exact words, I plead guilty to so often saying “I can’t do that!” when the Lord gives me work in His service. In effect I am saying the same thing and it is something I must remedy. I know that His enabling ALWAYS accompanies His calling. “I” can’t do it, but He in me can and does.

      Like

Leave a Reply

