UNCLAIMED! – is it yours?

 

Society for Savings Bank

This was the tallest structure between New York and Chicago in 1890 and it was built ENTIRELY from UNCLAIMED FUNDS.

Much of the money used had been deposited by people who had died and much by people who could not be traced.

The directors of the bank, after trying to contact depositors and waiting several years for people to claim what was rightfully theirs, used the money to erect the new building.


The Society for Savings
was founded as a mutual savings bank by Samuel Mather in Cleveland Ohio in 1849. It was a small bank but it grew and a 3 storey building was built. Continued growth resulted in Cleveland’s first skyscraper, the red brick, 10 storey Society for Savings structure, featuring two massive murals depicting the story of “the goose that laid the golden egg”

So, a beautiful building was the result of UNCLAIMED FUNDS.

It is estimated that one in three Australians have unclaimed funds from forgotten bank accounts, super funds etc.
No doubt the figures are similar in UK, USA and other countries.


Christians, what unclaimed funds are waiting for you?

The promises of God are more than sufficient to build spiritual edifices.

Whatever we need today,
there is a promise in the Word of God that we, His children, can claim.

** ALL the promises of God are OURS!

** ALL the promises of God are AVAILABLE to the child of God.

** ALL the promises of God are GUARANTEED.

** The greatness of the Promiser enhances
the greatness of the promises.

** God’s promises are like the stars:
the darker the night, they brighter they shine.

 

What was the FIRST promise of God you claimed AFTER you became a Christian?

Mine was Luke 21:15  “I will give you a mouth and wisdom which all your adversaries shall not be able to gainsay nor resist”

It was a few days after becoming a Christian.  I had been about to become a nun. Two priests were waiting for me each afternoon after work, to challenge me and I couldn’t answer them.  I was dejected but claimed this promise, shown to me by my pastor.
I read my Bible each lunch time, asking the Lord to show me what He wanted me to read. Each afternoon, the priests asked about the very thing I had read.  God’s promise was true!  They had no answer to the Word of God.
I have reclaimed this promise many times and God has NEVER failed to honour it.

Promises of God

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to UNCLAIMED! – is it yours?

  1. pbus1 says:

    Angela,

    Early yesterday morning, I read this post. Shortly after reading your post, I was quite surprised to see that one of the top stories of the morning on the local news, was unclaimed funds! I was surprised to learn, that in my state alone, there is more than $1 billion in unclaimed funds! Imagine that! $1 billion! Now, think about the many, many souls, who have unclaimed promises, but are oblivious to that fact! Then, there are some who are aware of the unclaimed funds, but are not inclined to retrieve those funds! So it is, in the world of Christendom! Many are aware of the promises of God, yet they walk contrary to the Word of God, they refuse to act upon the faith that is given unto them by God, and thus negating the promises of God that are theirs for the taking! May they come to their senses, before it is too late!

    May the blessings of the Lord, continue to be upon your life.

    Paulette

    Like

    • Very powerful!!

      >> Now, think about the many, many souls, who have unclaimed promises, but are oblivious to that fact! <<

      Paulette, no doubt here you were thinking, as I was, of those who have not claimed the promise of eternal life – free to all who will come and receive. Many have not heard but many have heard and have turned their backs. Sooooooo sad!

      Then you speak of those – including Christians – who know of the promises but refuse to walk in God's way. I cannot understand them. Haven't they experienced the blessedness of knowing Christ, walking with Him and enjoying His abiding presence, His provision, His encouragement, counsel and help?

      Thank you for adding the finishing touch.

      Angela

      Like

  2. snowgood says:

    There’s a challenge here. Do folk bother to “stand on the promises of God” these days?
    In those early days when I first woke up to the fact that I needn’t walk alone, and have no answers to eternal matters my favourite promise was “Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.” 2 Cor 5:17.
    My concern is for well intentioned leaders, and misinformed disciples who pick any bible verse and take it as a promise, when actually it was never intended as an anchor of hope to anyone other than the original recipient.
    I’m talking of course of “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11.
    I was a volunteer at “Pyramid Rock” which was a holiday Bible Club for 5-11 year olds, full of really good stuff and with this verse as a central theme. Who were these words intended for? Modern day people of “The Way” or a specific people group at a specific time?
    Would this verse apply to “Born again Believers” in Iraq? Ones who live in jeopardy of martyrdom from one day to the next. I don’t think so, they will prosper in glory but not on this earth.
    In your analogy the bank was built from unclaimed promises, but what lives and hopes are built upon shaky foundations and false hopes? The flood comes and …….

    Like

    • Todd Beal says:

      snowgood,

      I fail to see your point in this context.  From what I read, this post contains no reference to physical prosperity or glory, but only addresses our Spiritual riches while physically residing here on earth.

      Like

      • Todd I thought the analogy was obvious, but as is the case with parables, not every detail will dovetail.

        Unclaimed funds / unclaimed promises.

        In most western countries there is an enormous amount of unclaimed funds waiting for people to claim – but they are not claimed.
        The majority of Christians have an enormous amount of God’s promises waiting to be claimed – but we do not claim them.

        God has provided us with ALL we need in order to live a victorious Christian life, but we leave His promises unclaimed. Many Christians are bowed down under worries when His promise is that He will bear them for us. Many Christians give in to temptations and sinful habits when His promise is to provide a way of escape for them and to deliver them from an already defeated foe. His promise is that when we submit to Him and resist the devil, the devil will flee – but how many Christians take this promise and act on it?

        In the case quoted – the building of the Society of Savings – there was a “physical prosperity and glory” and this is where the analogy doesn’t quite jel, but the point remains . . . “The promises of God are more than sufficient to build spiritual edifices”

        Like

      • Todd, I have just realised that your response here is in reply to Snowgood. I mistakenly thought it was a response to my post – my mistake.

        I believe Snowgood’s reference to physical prosperity or glory was in connection with claiming the so-called “promise” of Jeremiah 29:11. As he rightly says, this could not apply to a child in many poverished, war-torn countries. Many people “claim” a “promise” only to become disillusioned.

        Like

    • Hi Stephen. I have to agree with you that Jeremiah 29:11 is not a general promise but it is a general principle of the nature of God. I also think that ANY Word can be used to bring comfort, encouragement, challenge etc to any child of God. The verse I so often see quoted out of context is Romans 8:28.

      I think the majority of, if not all, promises of God have an “if . . . then”. If it is not in the actual wording, then it is implied. In other words, we have to ACT on the promise – “If we . . . THEN God will”

      2 Cor 5:17 was one of the first verses I “took hold of” and here again it all depends on the “IF any one is in Christ”. We cannot change ourselves. Reformation is only possible to a degree. Transformation comes about with the “IF”.

      PS “Pyramid Rock” – an interesting name. Is it in reference to the place, or what is the origin?

      Angela

      Like

      • snowgood says:

        Hello Angela

        Pyramid Rock was a resource from Scripture Union. It had elements of Joseph’s story (as you can imagine), but maybe the Rock was referring to the music or Jesus – I’m not sure which, but it could have been both.

        I feel a photo & blog opportunity arising here …..

        back to the promises though, I totally agree about Romans 8:28, but seldom find anyone who view it the same way as I do.

        For me the key is “to them who are the called according to his purpose.” If I decide to rob a bank I am not “called according to his purpose” and the former promise may not apply!

        The challenge is to be working within our calling, be all about doing what The Lord wants us to do.

        But then I’m sure you worked that one out before I was “born again”!

        Like

        • I asked about Pyramid Rock because I write five day Holiday Club programs and that title intrigued me. I have compiled an outline and progress thoughts for one but haven’t started writing it yet and don’t have a title. Pyramid Rock wouldn’t suit, but the “Rock” concept might. The five day are:
          God’s Purpose and Man’s Defiance
          God’s Perseverance and Man’s Downfall
          God’s Provision and Man’s Decision
          God’s Priorities and Man’s Deliverance (Defence?)
          God’s Promises and Man’s Devotion (Dedication?)

          I agree about the key to Romans 8:28. I have found that so many Christians quote it (only the first part of course) in such a way that my response is – “and the devil gets off scot free!”

          Angela

          Like

  3. Todd Beal says:

    What greater guarantee than faith, given only by God himself. It is our promissory note that guarantees he his who he says he is, and therefore guarantees his word to us, both written and in revelation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

