POTENTIAL – how does it line up?

 

Potential in my hands

When the city fathers of New York contemplated the future growth of their city, they laid out the streets and numbered them from the centre outwards.
There were only seven streets at the time but they wisely planned for future growth.

They saw the POTENTIAL of the city, so reaching beyond their wildest imagination, they drew streets on the map all the way out to 19th Street and called it Boundary Street.

They were certain New York City could never grow larger, but history has proven them to be rather short-sighted.  The city reached 284th Street, far exceeding their expectations.

We Christians, like those city fathers, sometimes set the boundaries too close in our spiritual expectations.

Our POTENTIAL is UNLIMITED because God has laid all the resources of heaven at our disposal – but so often we LIMIT GOD by our unbelief, our unwillingness, our self-centredness.

Among the saddest words in the Bible:
Psalm 78:41
“They . . limited the Holy One of Israel”

and
Matt 13:58
Jesus did not many mighty works there because of their unbelief”

What an incongruous thought!
Created beings limiting the Creator!
Sinful, self-seeking humans limiting the perfect, self-giving Lord!

The Bible tells us that God has plans and a purpose for us.  I wonder how we align with His plans and purpose? I don’t think I’d like to see a graph showing God’s plans and expectations for me, overlaid with my weak efforts.  Sure, there would be times when they match, but there would be many times of vast differences.

His Plan for Me
When I stand at the Judgement Seat of Christ
And He shows me His plan for me –
The plan of my life as it MIGHT have been
Had He had HIS way – and I see
How I blocked Him here
And I checked Him there
And I would not yield my will.
Will there be grief in my Saviour’s eyes?
Grief, though He loves me still?

Then my desolate heart will well nigh break
With the tears that I cannot shed.
I shall cover my face with my empty hands;
I shall bow my uncrowned head.

Lord of the years that are left to me
I give them to Thy hand.
TAKE ME, and BREAK ME and MOLD ME
To the pattern YOU HAVE PLANNED!
(Martha Snell Nicholson)

Considering all He has done for us and all He gives to us, can you think of anything more embarrassing and shame producing than approaching our all-giving Saviour with empty hands?

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to POTENTIAL – how does it line up?

  1. pbus1 says:

    “It’s in there”! When God completed the designs for our lives, everything we needed to complete His purpose for our lives, was already within us, from the time we were in our mothers’ wombs! However, our unlimited potential can be hindered by so many things. It’s good to know, that even in spite of ourselves, we can go to God in prayer, ask Him for forgiveness, and He’ll give us a second chance. The Word of God tells us, “Being confident of this very thing, that He which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ”. (Philippians 1:6) I don’t want to appear before our Savior, with empty hands!

    Another great post. God bless you, Angela.

    Paulette

    Like

    • My hands won’t be empty. God has graciously used me to fulfill His own purposes many times, so there will be trophies to lay at His feet – but I know my hands could hold much more, so the last verse of Martha Snell Nicholson’s poem is my prayer for the time that remains.

      Like

Leave a Reply

