NOT GOOD ENOUGH – I cannot do anything!

How good is "good enough"?

His best mate had been killed in an accident.
Another friend had been diagnosed with cancer.

He was deeply challenged about where he stood with God.
He believed there MUST be a God.
He couldn’t believe this world had evolved from nothing.
The universe demanded intelligent design.

There MUST be a God – but what were His standards?
He had lived a good life, but how good is good enough?
If he died, what would happen to him?

He went to Church. He was interested in what he heard. It sounded hopeful but he didn’t really understand.

He spoke to the pastor after the service, earnestly asking what he had to do to be sure of acceptance with God and of being admitted to heaven if he died.

The pastor looked at the anxious young man and said “You’re too late!”

The distressed man exclaimed, “Oh please don’t say that!  I’ll do anything.  I’ll go anywhere.  I really want to know God and I’ll do anything at all to deserve His acceptance.”

The pastor repeated “I’m sorry.  You’re too late for that.  There is absolutely NOTHING you can do.”

As the young man showed despair, the pastor continued, “You see, your salvation was completed many years ago at Calvary.  There is NOTHING you can do, because HE did it all. Jesus Christ died in your place, paying the penalty for your sins.  He died, was buried and was raised from the dead on the third day, proving that His sacrifice was accepted by God the Father. His work of redemption was finished. Now, if you BELIEVE He died for you, IN YOUR PLACE . . . . . . .

“Oh I do. I do.” the young man interrupted, “I believe. I want Jesus Christ in my life and I want to follow Him and His direction for me.”

NOTHING CAN I BOAST IN
words & music Bryson Smith & Philip Percival

At God’s perfect timing
Christ died for fallen men.
He wore a crown of thorns,
Nails driven through His hands.
Christ willingly endured it;
To death He chose to go.
He broke His body for us,
Shed blood to make us whole.

Nothing can I boast in:
My life is scarred with sin.
My works are filthy rags:
No merit can I bring.
Yet mercy filled Christ’s heart.
Love took Him to the tree.
It’s grace alone which saves me:
Christ’s blood that sets me free.

So if I am to boast,
I’ll speak of my disgrace,
For my weak self displays
The power of God’s grace.
Christ’s Spirit works within me:
In weakness He is strong,
So I look to my Saviour
To safely bring me home.

 

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to NOT GOOD ENOUGH – I cannot do anything!

  1. pbus1 says:

    Hi Angela,

    I am so grateful, that God loved me so much, that He would send His Son, to suffer vicariously on Calvary’s Cross, and to die, to save a wretch like me. He had me on His mind, even before the foundation of the world! Praise God! Thank you for sharing!

    Paulette

    Like

    • The greatest conundrum of all time – WHY a perfect, sinless God would want ME . . . would be willing be send His Son for me . . . would want ME to be His child, adopted into His family – and why Jesus would be willing to become sin for ME, bearing MY punishment in His own body, suffering the wrath of the Father for ME!

      I cannot understand it – but I KNOW it. I EXPERIENCE it. I marvel at it and I thank Him for it.

      Like

  2. Todd Beal says:

    I felt my stomach unknot as I read this post. Thank you.

    Like

    • “Unknot”? I am pleased it did, but why was it knotted? And why did it unknot?

      Like

      • Todd Beal says:

        Angela,

        | There is NOTHING you can do, because HE did it all. Jesus Christ died in your place, paying the penalty for your sins. |

        I am the type of person who dots my i’s and crosses my t’s in every area of my life. It is very easy for me to get so caught up in understanding why things are the way they are, and why things work the way they work, that often times I overlook the simplicity of salvation. Pure and simple, salvation is pure and simple, and concerning it, there is nothing to overlook; it is what it is. Jesus accomplished everything on the cross in one fell swoop, including my forgiveness when I accepted him into my heart.

        I am very much a process-oriented person and my gut unknots when I am reminded (as in reading your post) that salvation is simple and uncomplicated. I can rely on his accomplishment and need not worry about it further – no shoring up, no maintenance, no constant double-checking to see if it is durable. Living the Christian life is not complicated, as in the affairs of human life, but is simply a two-way relationship with living Truth, my salvation, the purest of pure simplicity. I can depend on that.

        Like

  3. Rob Barkman says:

    Angela,
    This is a very encouraging post.
    What a blessing to know that He finished the work needed for our salvation! (Hebs 10:10-13). All we need to do is trust in Him!

    Rob

    Like

    • Amen!
      Hebrews 10:12 But this Man, after He had offered ONE sacrifice for sins for ever, SAT DOWN on the right hand of God.

      Jesus’ triumphant cry from the cross “It is finished” was followed by His SITTING DOWN – signifying His work was indeed finished.

      Like

Leave a Reply

