DEAD – but carrying life sustaining properties

 

Death and Life in the same source

 

The Dead Sea is the most remarkable body of water in the world. The water is bitter to the taste and leaves a yellow stain. No fish live there. No flowers or fruits grow on its shores. No animals live there and no birds sing in its vicinity.



The Dead Sea is a salt lake bordering Jordan to the east, and Israel to the west. It is 67 kms long and 18 kms  wide at its widest point. Its surface and shores are 422 m (1,385 ft) below sea level, the lowest elevation on the Earth’s surface on land. It is 378 m (1,240 ft) deep, and one of the world’s saltiest bodies of water, with 33.7% salinity. It is 8 times saltier than the ocean.

Surprisingly, the Dead Sea is also the WORLD’S RICHEST SOURCE of natural salts and more than 35 different types of minerals, essential for health. These include Magnesium, Calcium, Potassium, Bromine, Sulphur, and Iodine, used in many medicines and medical treatments. They are well known for relieving pains and sufferings caused by arthritis, rheumatism, psoriasis, eczema, headache and foot-ache, while nourishing and softening the skin.

A Christian can be likened to the Dead Sea.

The Dead Sea RECEIVES but never GIVES OUT.  It receives 5,000,000 tons of water daily from rivers, mainly the Jordan River, but the water has no outlet. It is condensed by the sun and becomes salt.  The Dead Sea cannot sustain life and yet it harbours rich minerals with enormous benefits to mankind.

GOD has given so many blessings to His children. In fact, He has given us ALL the resources we need to live victorious lives glorifying to Him. Yet so often we leave those rich deposits unused, and by doing so, we rob our friends and all we meet by not sharing with them the life-giving properties given to our keeping.   While some Christians bear strong similarities to the Dead Sea, most of us who are honest would have to admit that we ALL fail at times to GIVE in relation to all we have received.

#  If there is no fruit in my life, there is no reason for my existence.

# The greatest use of a life is to spend it on something that outlasts it.

# The Lordship of Christ is neither optional nor negotiable.

 

Sunset at the Dead Sea

Dead Sea and salt at Sunset

 

 

Barrenness at the Dead Sea

Barrenness on the shores of the Dead Sea

 

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DEAD – but carrying life sustaining properties

  1. altonwoods says:

    I very much enjoyed your writing, it’s very good! Thank you, you’ve given me a new perspective on what it means to walk out my Christian faith. I pray that God would show me how to be “salt and light” in this world!

    Like

    • Thanks for dropping by. It should always be our desire to be salt and light but it will only happen as we allow Him to live in and THROUGH us. I am currently writing a blog on this subject but it isn’t ready yet.

      Like

  2. snowgood says:

    Best yet. I’d love to play the Dead Sea a visit, but for now I need to keep giving…

    Like

    • We ALL need to keep giving, but isn’t it wonderful to know that we can give NOTHING to purchase favour with God? His blessings are given “in spite of” not “because of” anything we have done.

      Even if we gave and gave and gave and did nothing else but give, we could NEVER outdo the giving of God. He ALWAYS uses a bigger shovel!

      Like

  3. NRIGirl says:

    Hi! I am so glad to visit your blog and I must add I am so blessed reading your post on Dead sea and your testimony. Thank you for sharing and inspiring us Christians to keep the bessings flowing in both directions – give and receive…

    I love your blog name too “Meeting in the Clouds” – what a divine hope we are all so looking forward to!

    When you have a minute would you care to stop by for some Coffee with Jesus?! Yes, please bring your husband dear along and pass it on to other friends and family who might enjoy it too.

    ~ NRIGirl

    Like

    • Thank you NRIGirl. I visited your pages and tried to leave a comment at a couple, but was not able to post it. I love your set up and thrilled to a couple of your blogs, but maybe it is just too complicated for my limited internet experience.
      I was not able to find what NRI stands for.

      Like

Leave a Reply

