HARMONY or DISCORD What makes the difference?

A piano can send forth beautiful, harmonious melodies when played by an accomplished pianist.

I love piano music and have ‘just piano’ CDs playing while I work at my computer. I enjoy all musical instruments but the piano easily tops all others in my view.  However, there are exceptions.

I was visiting a friend  last week and a young toddler was banging on the piano keys, really enjoying herself . . . but there was nothing but a jarring, discordant noise which could easily drive to distraction.

What makes the difference between the music I love to listen to and the noise coming from my friend’s piano?      Was it the piano?

True, the pianos used by the pianists on my CDs are probably much better than my friend’s piano, but is that what made the difference?  Of course not!

The difference was in the person playing the piano. 

 A Christian can be like a piano.

We can have beautiful, harmonious lives, challenging others and uplifting others, WHEN we are CONTROLLED BY THE MASTER.

Alternatively, our lives can be DISCORDANT and even obnoxious when they are undisciplined and CONTROLLED BY SELF.

Who is in control of my life?

Does my life give forth beautiful and harmonious melodies,
or is there discordant, jangling noise?

 Is my life a challenge and a stepping stone to faith in Christ,
or is it a stumbling block?

 Do I need to awake out of sleep and redeem the time?
Ephesians 5:14-17

 I am reminded of a once popular chorus:
“Lord, make me an instrument of Your peace”

May our lives ring true
and sound out a message of hope, peace and love
to those who do not know Christ.

About meetingintheclouds

I am Cloudwatcher, a 76 year old Christian lady, happily married to a wonderful man for over 50 years. We have five wonderful sons, all with at least one University degree and in top positions in their chosen fields. One son is still single but four have found perfect wives and they have given us five lovely grandchildren. I was born in England and while I'm proud of my English heritage, I am doubly proud to be a true-blue, fair-dinkum Aussie. My husband and I are committed Christians whose first priority is to love and serve our risen Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ. My life story will tell of my journey from abuse to peace. I suffered 22 years of abuse, being constantly told I was totally evil and an ugly freak: no one would ever want me, so I might as well do the world a favour and kill myself.
This entry was posted in Bible Truths, Devotionals, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to HARMONY or DISCORD What makes the difference?

  1. Ann says:

    Thanks, Angela

    A most beautiful piece to get my day going. I just left an interview where I had an opportunity to make a ‘good’ impression. I could say whatever I want, but the interviewer would likely have thrown me out had I said things that were offensive.

    Thanks for the reminder to give off ‘good sounds’
    “We can have beautiful, harmonious lives, challenging others and uplifting others, WHEN we are CONTROLLED BY THE MASTER.”
    When I let Him speak through me, it makes a world of difference.

    God bless you, One-who-shares-great-analogies. May you continue to. Be a sweet sound for His glory.

    For Him,
    Ann

    • Thanks Ann.
      There are so many times that Holy Spirit keeps our mouths shut in a smile and then gives us the RIGHT words to speak to show that regardless of the circumstances, HE is in control and others will take note and will be drawn to the One who makes a difference.
      I know He will continue to use you to be a sweet sound for His glory.
      Angela

  2. Debbie says:

    I love your analogies! They teach me and show me His truths in a way that I can easily grasp onto. Thinking about that beautiful piano music and then someone banging on a piano . . .ouch. You’ve left me with this imprint . . .if I hear wrong notes and feel all out of tune . . .I need to get with God quick! :) God bless you as you help us in our walks with Him, urging us toward the best He wants for us! love and prayers!

    • Thanks Debbie. We all need a “tune-up” at times. Just as the little child banging on the keys thinks she is making a great sound, while in truth it is painful, so we, when we go ahead on our merry way, with no regard as to the Lord’s will . . . we think we are going well, but our way is painful to our Lord who wants us to be richly blessed and sending out rich melodies by following His will.
      Isn’t it wonderful that, unlike many parents who don’t correct their children wisely, our loving Father chastises us, corrects us and leads us back on the right path before real harm comes.
      What an amazing God!

  3. Rob Barkman says:

    A life lived for the Lord is the most beautiful life there is….

    1Pet 3:3-4 (KJV)
    3) Whose adorning let it not be that outward [adorning] of plaiting the hair, and of wearing of gold, or of putting on of apparel;
    4) But [let it be] the hidden man of the heart, in that which is not corruptible, [even the ornament] of a meek and quiet spirit, which is in the sight of God of great price.

    Lord bless you.

Leave a Reply

